European History Research Guide

ArchiveGrid attempts to provide a single point of entry to worldwide archival holdings. Scholars can search for and view archival and manuscript collection descriptions, locate relevant research institutions, arrange visits, or request copies from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives.

The French National Archives collects, preserves, provides access to the archival holdings of the government, central administration, etc.

The Archives Portal Europe provides access to information on archival material from different European countries as well as information on archival institutions throughout the continent.

The Federal Archives provides access to documents (files, papers, cartographic records, pictures, posters, films, sound recordings and machine-readable data) arising from the central institutions of the Holy Roman Empire (1495-1806), the German Confederation (1815-1866), the German Reich (1867/71-1945), the occupation zones (1945-1949), the German Democratic Republic (1949-1990) and the Federal Republic of Germany (since 1949)." - Das Bundesarchiv

"This project is intended to assist researchers who are planning to use European libraries and archives. The focus is on materials found in western European repositories from the Atlantic area eastward. Included are all kinds of archival and library resources available in western Europe; thus the scope of the project includes resources useful for researchers studying Asia, Africa, Oceania and the Americas, as well as for researchers studying Europe. Likewise, "historical" resources are broadly defined to include not only those relevant to the traditional study of history, but also artistic, scientific, and other subjects with a historical dimension." - Historical Research in Europe (UW-Madison)

"Archives and archival finding aids may be searched in the catalogue. Descriptions of Dutch archives are in Dutch, the other ones are in English. " - The International Institute of Social History (IISH)

Researchers can find information about the archival sources and the research guides in their holdings.

Researchers can access research guides and digitized collections from their website.