Library Basics
Before you begin your search in our catalog, please sign into your library account. The option to sign in is provided on the top left-hand side of the screen. It would be helpful for you in getting additional information about materials.
-
Library SearchUse the library's catalog to locate books, e-books, journals, videos, microfilms, government documents, etc.
-
WorldCatThe WorldCat is helpful in searching the holdings of several libraries in the United States as well as many libraries abroad. It is the world's most comprehensive bibliography with bibliographic records representing information spanning 4,000 years. It is the OCLC Online Union Catalog of information contributed by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries worldwide.
-
Interlibrary LoanCan't find an item you need? Try interlibrary loan (ILL). Loan period and usage policies are decided by the lending institutions.Find out how to place and track requests. Learn about Interlibrary Use Programs that provide Emory researchers in-house and direct borrowing privileges at libraries across North America at https://libraries.emory.edu/using-the-library/interlibrary-services/index.html
-
Google ScholarUse Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Use your EmoryCard to borrow materials yourself from Georgia Tech, Georgia State University, and the University of Georgia (Athens), OR ...
... ask for an interlibrary Use Card at the Woodruff reference desk to borrow materials from other Atlanta area colleges.
Core Databases
Please begin your research with the "Core Databases" listed below.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals. (Coverage: Dates vary. Some content goes as far back as 1865)
Historical Abstracts indexes journals, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). (Coverage 1995-present)
JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in various fields.
(Coverage: Varies. The most recent 3-5 years are not included)
Project Muse provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses.
(Coverage: Varies)
Requests and Recalls
How to Request
You may request items held by all Emory Libraries. You will be notified once the item is available at your chosen pickup location.
Please note that items requested from the Library Service Center and Oxford College Library are usually sent within two business days.
To request an item from another Emory Library:
- Log in to your Library Search account
- Look up the item and open the item record
- Click on the Locate/Request This Item
- Click on Request Physical Item
Recall a Checked Out Item
You may recall items that are currently checked out to other patrons. Initiating a recall request will shorten the due date for the item to ten days from the date of the recall. You will be notified once the item is returned.
To recall an item:
- Log in to your Library Search account
- Look up the item and open the item record
- Click on Locate/Request This Item
- Click on Request Physical Item
For more information, please click on this link.