Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
Oxford Art Online (incl. Grove Art)
Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online (an encyclopedia of over 40,000 articles covering art, artists, and all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography, as well as digital images of the most frequently studied works of art). Don't forget to review the helpful bibliographies at the end of the signed Grove entries.
N7560 .H34 2008 Dictionary of subjects and symbols in art by James Hall
N7740 .B2913 2005 Symbols and allegories in art by Matilde Battistini
REF N8010 .S64 1994 The Dent dictionary of symbols in Christian art by Jennifer Speake
N7830 .M87 2001 A dictionary of Christian Art by Peter Murray
In addition to ARTstor which conatins the entire Illustrated Bartsch [50,000 images of Old Master European prints (engravings, etchings, woodcuts, etc.) from the 15th Century to the early 19th Century.]
· Art in the Christian Tradition, Jean and Alexander Heard/Divinity Library, Vanderbilt University, http://diglib.library.vanderbilt.edu/act-search.pl
· De bijbel in de Nederlandse cultuur, http://www.bijbelencultuur.nl/
· Bildarchiv Foto Marburg, http://www.bildindex.de/#|home
· Imaging the Bible in Wales Database, http://imagingthebible.llgc.org.uk/
· Index of Christian Art, whose own subject headings are cross-referenced to ICONCLASS numbers
· Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts, Koninklijke Bibliotheek / National Library of the Netherlands, http://www.kb.nl/manuscripts/
· Rijksbureau voor Kunsthistorische Documentatie (RKD) Database, http://english.rkd.nl/Databases/RKDimages