Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies Research Guide

Databases

Databases like JSTOR and Academic Search Complete provide citations and/or full text of journal articles, books, and other materials. Emory University Libraries enable access to the contents of more than 400 databases. See our Databases page for a complete listing. For help with searching databases, see our Finding Articles at Woodruff research guide.

Access from off-campus is available only to current Emory University students, faculty and staff, and requires an Emory Network ID and password.

Journals and Databases

Electronic Journals

Journals in Print Only

Databases at Emory

ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals..

BROCKELMANN ONLINE
Consists of original and supplemental volumes of Brockelmann's Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur, offering bio-bibliographical information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis in the classical period.

ENCYCLOPAEDIA ISLAMICA
This volume of Encyclopaedia Islamica is the first of a projected 16-volume publication, consisting of an abridged and edited translation of the Persian Da'irat al-Ma'arif-i Buzurg-i Islam-i, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world.

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ARABIC LANGUAGE AND LINGUISTICS ONLINE
Comprehensively covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is interdisciplinary in scope and represents different schools and approaches. The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics Online is cross-searchable and cross-referenced, and is equipped with a browsable index. It includes topics from anthropology, psychology, sociology, philosophy, and computer science

ENCYCLOPAEDIA OF ISLAM, SECOND EDITION
The Encyclopaedia of Islam combines a familiar look with fast and effective research facilities. The entire text of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the monumental, printed edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is now easily available on your computer screen.

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF JEWS IN THE ARAB WORLD
The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World Online (EJIW) is the first cohesive and discreet reference work which covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods. The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World Online is updated with newly commissioned articles, illustrations, multimedia, and primary source material.

HISTORICAL ABSTRACTS
Indexes journals, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada)..

INDEX ISLAMICUS
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere.

JSTOR
The Journal Storage Project provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics. JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.

OXFORD BIBLIOGRAPHIES ONLINE. ISLAMIC STUDIES
Guide to scholarly literature in the field, subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.

OXFORD ISLAMIC STUDIES ONLINE
Provides online access to more than 3,000 articles and electronic resources in English on the Islamic world, includes more than 150 primary source documents with editorial instructions, and has a glossary of Islamic terms.

PAIS INTERNATIONAL
Indexes articles, books and some government documents in the areas of public policy, social policy and the social sciences. Coverage: 1971-present.

PROJECT MUSE
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery..

 

Middle Eastern Studies

The Arab-Israeli Conflict

Israel-Arab War, 1948-1949 -- Israel-Arab War, 1967 -- Israel-Arab War, 1973 ; Intifada,1987 -- Al-Aqsa Intifada, 2000-  
Arab-Israeli Conflict, 1948-1967 -- Arab-Israeli Conflict, 1967-1973 -- Arab-Israeli Conflict, 1973-1993 -- Arab-Israeli Conflict, 1993-


Iraq 

Iran-Iraq War, 1980-1988
Iraq-Kuwait Crisis, 1990-1991
Anfal Campaign, iraq, 1986-1989  
Iraq War, 2003- Iraq Under the Hashemite Kingdom: Iraq--History--1921-1958
On July 14, 1958, the monarchy was violently overthrown by Col.Abd Al-Karim Qasim and the Free Officers; Iraq--History--Revolution, 1958 Iraq--History--1958-1979  (From the beginning of the Republic until the advent of Saddam Hussein. Several revolutionary regimes liquidated each ther successively, until 1979, when Saddam Hussein became president of Iraq)
The Saddam Hussein Era and Beyond:    
Iraq--History--1979-1991 Iraq--History--1991-2003 Iraq--History--2003-

Lebanon

Druze-Maronite Relations The 1958 U.S. Intervention  Israeli Interventions :  1982-1985 -- 1996 -- 2006
Lebanon--History--1516- Lebanon--History--1516-1918 Lebanon--History--1946-
Lebanon--History--1946-1975 Lebanon--History--1990- Lebanon--History--20th Century
Lebanon--History--Civil War, 1975-1990  

 Egypt

1919 Insurrection -- Suez War (1956) -- Monarchy until 1952 -- Egypt Under Nasser -- Under Sadat -- Under Mubarak -- The Arab Spring -- Egypt--History--1250-1517 (Under Mamelukes rule)-- Egypt--History--1517-1882 -- Egypt--History--1798- -- Egypt--History--1919-1952 -- Egypt--History--1952-1970 (Under Gamal Abdul Nasser) -- Egypt--History--1970-1981 (Under Anwar Sadat) -- Egypt--History--1981- (Under Hosni Mubarak).


Syria

Syria--History--Civil War, 2011-

Syria--History--1516-1918

 Syria--History--French Occupation, 1918-1946

Syria--History--Insurrection, 1925-1927

Syria--History--634-750

Syria--History--750-1260

 

 

 

Newspapers

For a complete list of Middle Eastern regional newspapers and news media guide go to ABYZ News Links

Below are links to widely circulated Arabic and English newspapers

    Arabic Newspapers

  • An-Nahar - Leading independent Arabic newspaper published in Lebanon. It was founded in 1933 by Gebran Tueni. It has grown since then to be considered today as Lebanon's equivalent of the New York Times.1
  • Al-Hayat - It is one of the leading daily pan-Arab newspapers, with a circulation estimated over 200,000. It is the preferred venue for liberal intellectuals who wish to express themselves to a large public.2
  • Al-Safir - Published in Beirut, with a circulation of about 50,000. It was founded by Talal Salman in 1974.3
  • Al-Ahram - It was founded in 1875, and is the most widely circulating Egyptian daily newspaper. It is majority owned by the Egyptian government. It has a daily circulation of 1,000,000.4
  • Al-Zaman - Iraqi daily newspaper published in Baghdad, Beirut and London.
  • English Newspapers

  • The Daily Star -
  • Al-Ahram Weekly