Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies Research Guide

RESEARCH TOOLS FOR ISLAMIC CIVILIZATION STUDIES

RESEARCH TOOLS FOR ISLAMIC CIVILIZATION STUDIES

 

This database is a comprehensive index to publications on Islamic subjects throughout the world. Records cover almost 100 years, from 1906 to the present. The scope includes the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

A large collection of extremely valuable databases and reference sources, including but not limited to:

  1. Encyclopedia of Islam
  2. Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures
  3. Quranic Studies Online (includes 3 sources)
  4. Classic Arabic Texts Online (includes 4 titles: Kitab Futuh al-Buldan, in Arabic and in the English translation; Mukhtasar Kitab al-Buldan, and the Tarikh of Tabari)

  • OXFORD ISLAMIC STUDIES ONLINE – “more than 3,000 reference articles and chapters by leading scholars and specialists in their fields, and much more. Qur'anic studies resources..”

Miscellaneous

For Ottoman Empire, search Turkey History Ottoman Empire, 1288-1918