Databases - LAW 736B - Global Public Health Law (Prof. Brady - Fall 2023) - Research Guides at Emory University Libraries

Legal Databases & Electronic Resources

MacMillan Law Library has a wide collection of subscription-based law-related electronic resources and databases. Most of the resources are available to members of the Emory community both on and off campus.

Foreign Law Guide
Contains primary and secondary sources of foreign law for more than 170 jurisdictions, including major nations, crown colonies, semi-independent states, and supra-national regional organizations.
HeinOnline Special Collection - COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present
"As the world grapples with COVID-19, HeinOnline has launched COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present to spread information. Compiling together publications on the various ways COVID-19 has impacted every aspect of life, from testing issues, to stimulus payments, to the quest for a vaccine, this database organizes content on COVID-19 into the following areas of focus: Economic Impact, Global Impact, Health Care Impact, and Societal Impact, with an expanding selection of scholarly articles and links to take your learning beyond HeinOnline. Importantly, this collection also features a subcollection dedicated to Past Pandemics, allowing researchers access to ways the federal government has responded to medical disasters of the past and how these previous pandemics inform today’s response. This database, much like our understanding of COVID-19, will continue to evolve over the coming months and years as new content is published and integrated with regular updates."
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (law school community only)
This work represents a new edition of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law that was published between 1991 and 2001 under Professor Dr. Rudolf Bernhardt. The MPEPIL is intended as an updated, comprehensive work covering the central and essential topics in international law.
Bloomberg Health Practice Center
Explore Bloomberg's health-related content (U.S.-focused)
Lexis+ Practice Area: Public Health & Welfare Law
Search and browse health-related resources on Lexis+ (U.S.-focused)
Westlaw Practice Area: Health
Search and browse Westlaw's health-related resources (U.S.-focused)

Non-Legal Databases

Global public health law often requires interdisciplinary research. Emory University has an extensive database collection, any you may also limit your database search by topic, including public health.

Global Health This link opens in a new window
International coverage of communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDS), tropical and parasitic diseases, human nutrition, community and public health, and medicinal and poisonous plants.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for books and articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories and universities, and more. To add a "Find It @ Emory" button, go to Library Links in the Settings menu, search for Emory, and click the "Find It @ Emory" box. NOTE: Unlike a library database, many sources found in Google Scholar require payment before providing full text; check library holdings of journal titles in Library Search or Interlibrary Loan before paying.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
E-books from Oxford University Press and several partner presses. Emory licensed content is indicated by the green unlock sign. Consider clicking "only search content I have access to," and browsing the "What we publish" tab.

Questions for the MacMillan Law Library?

Have a research question for the library?

Students, please submit your question(s) here: https://library.law.emory.edu/research/student-research.html

Faculty, please submit your question(s) here: https://library.law.emory.edu/research/faculty-research.html

MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:

Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

MacMillan Library Building Hours (January 6 - April 4):

Monday - Thursday: 8am - Midnight
Friday: 8am - 8pm
Saturday: 10am - 6pm
Sunday: Noon - Midnight

Reference Desk:
Monday: 10am - 4pm
Tuesday: 10am - 4pm
Wednesday: 10am - 1pm; 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 1pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services