Global Health Justice and Governance by
In a world beset by extreme and unconscionable health disparities humankind desperately needs a new vision to ensure central health capabilities for all. Yawing gaps in health law, dangerous contagions that can circle our globalized planet in hours, and a bewildering confusion of health systems are all profound challenges requiring urgent address. Global Health Justice and Governance lays out the critical problems facing the world today and offers a new theory of justice and governance as a way to resolve these seemingly intractable issues.A fundamental responsibility of government is to ensure human flourishing. The central role that health plays in this flourishing places a unique claim on our public institutions and resources, as central health capabilities are pressed to reduce premature death and prevent avoidable morbidities. In a world of staggering inequalities, imperilling epidemics, and inadequacies of current models a new architecture of central health systems is desperately needed. Global Health Justice and Governance lays out a vision for achieving this important change.
Research Handbook on Global Health Law by
This timely Research Handbookprovides a critical conceptualization and definition of the growing field of global health law. The Research Handbookforms the first comprehensive study on the treatment of health issues in international legal regimes and explores the role of international law in addressing the most prominent global health challenges. The editors have consciously adopted a holistic approach by including 'soft' norms and informal law-making processes in the Research Handbook'sscope to give a realistic account of the normative framework that shapes contemporary global health. Despite following a predominantly legal perspective, the Research Handbookalso adopts an interdisciplinary approach by looking at health from a governance perspective and using insights from international relations scholarship in forecasting possible future developments surrounding health law. The Research Handbookfeatures contributions from a team of leading international legal scholars who have experience of approaching the issue of global health from multiple angles. International law scholars who are seeking information on the growing role of health in governance trends will find this Research Handbookto be of great interest. Public health scholars who are researching international legal perspectives on health practice and policy will also find it to be a valuable resource. Contributors include: F. Abbott, A. Bellal, C. Brassart Olsen, G.L. Burci, G. Call, A. Garde, C. Giorgetti, S. Gruskin, M. Hartley, J. Liberman, M.M. Mbengue, B. McGrady, S. Moon, T. Murphy, S. Negri, K. O'Cathaoir, X. Seuba, D. Tarantola, J. Tobin, B. Toebes, S. Waltman, S. Zhou
Systems Thinking for Global Health by
How can systems-thinking contribute to solving key challenges in Global Health? Global Health is an evolving field operating within a complex interaction of political, environmental, economic, and socio-cultural factors. Any work on the subject needs to reflect current developments and be supported by a collaborative, interdisciplinary approach that retains a focus on the underpinning determinants of health. This book reflects the importance of applying a systems-thinking approach to Global Health challenges: one that examines both the individual elements within the system as well as the interrelationships between them and wider contextual patterns. Bringing together a global and multidisciplinary team of experts, this volume outlines the core concepts of a systems-thinking approach and how they can be applied to current Global Health problems. It provides a comprehensive range of case studies, reflections, conceptual pieces, and methodological approaches. Readers are invited to engage with arguments and assumptions across global health interventions and to connect systems-thinking theory with lived experiences. Well-established topics such as infectious and non-communicable diseases, as well as lesser-discussed areas such as still birth, mental health, and war and conflict are united under a shared systems-thinking framework. Offering innovative perspectives on current health challenges, students, academics, practitioners, and policy makers will find this a significant resource to enhance their understanding and application of systems-thinking in Global Health.
Modernizing Global Health Security to Prevent, Detect, and Respond by
Modernizing Global Health Security to Prevent, Detect, and Respond explores--through thoughtful, thorough, and diverse scientific review and analyses--factors that have led to recent public health emergencies and offers a vision for a better protected global environment. The authors consider the history of global health security, governance, and legal structures with an eye toward novel approaches for the present and future. The book presents a vision for a more protected and safer global public health future (with the actions needed to achieve it) to prevent, detect, and respond to (re)emerging threats. Its aim is to chart a way forward with the understanding that future pandemics must and can be prevented. Major topics examined from a public health perspective include global health security; the growing concept of One Health; epidemic and pandemic prevention, detection, and response; reviews of past (e.g., Ebola, MERS-CoV, Zika, and COVID-19) public health emergencies of international concern; roles of information and communication technology; humanmade public health threats; and legal and ethical issues (e.g., viral sovereignty, trust, and transparency). Modernizing Global Health Security to Prevent, Detect, and Respond provides the academic substance and quality for researchers and practitioners to deeply understand the why of health emergencies, and most importantly--what we can and should do now to prepare. Highlights (re)emerging past and future threats to public health (e.g., climate change, antibiotic resistance, failures of societal sectors to work together) Discusses new visions for global health security in each chapter Considers how to leverage technological innovations to advance public health Includes practical examples through case studies from around the world
Global Health Law by
The international community has made great progress in improving global health. But staggering health inequalities between rich and poor still remain, raising fundamental questions of social justice. In a book that systematically defines the burgeoning field of global health law, Lawrence Gostin drives home the need for effective global governance for health and offers a blueprint for reform, based on the principle that the opportunity to live a healthy life is a basic human right. Gostin shows how critical it is for institutions and international agreements to focus not only on illness but also on the essential conditions that enable people to stay healthy throughout their lifespan: nutrition, clean water, mosquito control, and tobacco reduction. Policies that shape agriculture, trade, and the environment have long-term impacts on health, and Gostin proposes major reforms of global health institutions and governments to ensure better coordination, more transparency, and accountability. He illustrates the power of global health law with case studies on AIDS, influenza, tobacco, and health worker migration. Today's pressing health needs worldwide are a problem not only for the medical profession but also for all concerned citizens. Designed with the beginning student, advanced researcher, and informed public in mind, Global Health Law will be a foundational resource for teaching, advocacy, and public discourse in global health.
To set up Emory Law access to Bloomberg Law, the New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal, visit the Digital Access guide.
The websites of organizations dealing with global public health are great resources for data and other publications that you can use as source material for your paper. Here is a non-exhaustive list of organizations you may want to look at:
Have a research question for the library?
Students, please submit your question(s) here: https://library.law.emory.edu/research/student-research.html
Faculty, please submit your question(s) here: https://library.law.emory.edu/research/faculty-research.html
MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
MacMillan Library Building Hours (January 6 - April 4):
Monday - Thursday: 8am - Midnight
Friday: 8am - 8pm
Saturday: 10am - 6pm
Sunday: Noon - Midnight
Reference Desk:
Monday: 10am - 4pm
Tuesday: 10am - 4pm
Wednesday: 10am - 1pm; 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 1pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services
