Your research on international commercial arbitration will include finding treaties and international agreements, including their status and parties. This guide includes sources for finding treaties on commercial disputes subject to arbitration, treaties governing the arbitration process and enforcement of awards, and treaties on investor-state arbitration.
Kluwer Arbitration: Multilateral treaties including the 1958 New York Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards, the Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes between States and Nationals of Other States, the 1927 Convention on the Execution of Foreign Arbitral Awards, and regional treaties on international arbitration and trade.
Westlaw International Arbitration: Treaties: Multilateral treaties and related documents published in International Legal Materials, and bilateral investment and trade treaties
United Nations Treaty Collection: Status of Treaties includes major treaties on Commercial Arbitration and Mediation (including the 1958 New York Convention), plus other treaties as found in the United Nations Treaty Series.
Hein Online: The UNCITRAL collection includes the UN Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods, the UN Convention on Transparency in Treaty-Based Investor-State Arbitration, the New York Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards, UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules, Model Laws, Conference, and other documents.
Find treaties governing the arbitration process and on enforcement and recognition of arbitral awards in these sources:
New York Arbitration Convention: This site has text of the convention, as well as a guide to the convention, the travaux preparatoires, caselaw, and secondary sources.
UNCITRAL: UNCITRAL texts on international arbitration include the 1958 Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards, the 2014 Convention on Transparency in Treaty-based Investor-State Arbitration, the 1985 Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration, explanatory texts, rules, and a bibliography.
World Arbitration Reporter: International Encyclopaedia of Arbitration Law and Practice (K2400 .W672): Volume 4 includes the text of treaties and bilateral and regional arbitration agreements.
UNCITRAL (UN Commission on International Trade Law): UNCITRAL resources on the UN Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG) and the 1974 Convention on the Limitation Period in the International Sale of Goods include the treaty texts, uniform rules, explanatory texts, and a bibliography.
PACE CISG Database: Includes the treaty text and travaux, an annotated version of the treaty by article, commentaries, and law review articles, as well as a caselaw database.
UNIDROIT: Uniform law instruments and model laws on commercial contracts, international sales, and other private international law subjects.
Find treaties related to arbitration mechanisms in investment law, and bilateral investment treaties (BITs) in these sources:
ICSID (International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes): Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes Between States and Nationals of Other States, plus rules and regulations for arbitration
UNCITRAL Texts and Status: Texts include the UN Convention on Transparency in Treaty-Based Investor-State Arbitration (the Mauritius Convention on Transparency), plus UNCITRAL Codes of Conduct for Arbitrators and Judges, rules, and explanatory texts.
ITA Law: UNCTAD International Investment Agreements, Free Trade Agreements with Investment Protections, and Model BITs. The site also has searchable investment awards from ICSID, the PCA, and national courts.
UNCTAD Investment Policy Hub: International investment agreements and cases, plus national laws and news.
Transnational Dispute Management: Journal with articles on dispute management. Legislative & Regulatory documents section includes BITs and arbitration awards.
SICE/OAS Foreign Trade Information System: BITs and trade agreements by country for the western hemisphere.
US State Department and US Trade Representative : US Bilateral Investment Treaties.
MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
MacMillan Library Building Hours (August 19 - November 15, 2024):*
Monday - Thursday: 8am - Midnight
Friday: 8am - 8pm
Saturday: 10am - 6pm
Sunday: Noon - Midnight
*Labor Day Weekend Hours:
Friday, August 30: 8am-6pm
Sat-Sun: Closed
Monday, September 1: Noon-6pm
Reference Desk:*
Monday: 10am - 4pm
Tuesday: 10am - 4pm
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm; 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 1pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
*Closed Monday, Sept. 1st.
IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services
