Research and Practice in International Commercial Arbitration by
This book provides both experienced and inexperienced practitioners, as well as advanced students, with a guide to the strategies associated with researching international commercial arbitration as well as the sources associated with that field of law. The book combines instructional text with a bibliography of sources to teach readers where to find relevant material. The instructional chapters discuss the most important methods by which one conducts research in international arbitration, while the bibliography provides guidance on where to find that material. Furthermore, the book will offer tips on how to present a case to an international tribunal, which is quite different than presenting a case to a national court. In effect, the book walks the reader through the steps associated with researching and presenting issues in international commercial arbitration.
International Commercial Arbitration by
International Commercial Arbitration contains detailed commentary, case analyses, and practice pointers. Full annotations and footnotes provide invaluable research assistance, while clearly-written analyses identify and discuss critical issues. Representative international arbitral awards and national court decisions are excerpted, and detailed reference is made to leading institutional rules. Detailed appendices, an easy-to-use Table of Contents, and an extensive index to aid research and provide ready access to key materials.
International Commercial Arbitration, A Transnational Perspective by
This innovative casebook approaches the subject as uniquely transnational law, rather than the law of any one country. It covers international conventions, court decisions, arbitral awards, statutes, and arbitration rules from all over the world. This edition includes the amended UNCITRAL Model Law, the U.S. Supreme Court decision disallowing expanded review of awards, the European Court of Justice decision on anti-foreign-suit injunctions in arbitration, Egyptian and Swedish cases on challenges, an Indian Supreme Court decision on set-aside, new U.S. cases refusing to enforce annulled awards, and developments concerning arbitrators fees, discovery, escalation clauses, and truncated tribunals.
International Commercial Arbitration: A Guide for U.S. Judges by
Federal Judicial Center International Litigation Guide.
Articles:
"Research in International Commercial Arbitration: Special Skills, Special Sources,” 20 The American Review of International Arbitration 119 (2009)
Use library research guides to find sources and background for your research. Some of the guides on international commercial arbitration from other libraries are:
Research guides from other law libraries may include treatises and databases not available at Emory, and links to some subscription resources from other schools will not work. Check the list of Emory Law Library databases and the Emory Libraries catalog to see if resources are available here.
Study aids and hornbooks on reserve at the Service Desk and in the West Academic online collection include:
Principles of Arbitration Law by 
International Commercial Arbitration in a Nutshell by 
International Investment Arbitration in a Nutshell by 
Foreign Investment Law Including Investor-State Arbitrations in a Nutshell by 
Principles of International Business Transactions by The Kluwer Arbitration database includes an arbitration blog, ITA Report, and other journals and arbitration news sources. The Kluwer Arbitration Blog is also available free without logging into the database.
LAW360 includes news on International Arbitration. LAW360 new stories include some attached documents like complaints and orders. LAW360 is also available to search on Lexis. Lexis also has Mealey's Litigation Report for International Arbitration.
Westlaw International Arbitration Materials have current awareness sources including journals, press releases, UK and EU publications, and UK case transcripts.
Blogs that include new cases and awards, plus other news, on international commercial arbitration:
News stories on international arbitration can sometimes be found in the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. Find instructions for setting up digital access in the library's research guides.
MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
MacMillan Library Building Hours (August 19 - November 15, 2024):
Monday - Thursday: 8am - Midnight
Friday: 8am - 8pm
Saturday: 10am - 6pm
Sunday: Noon - Midnight
Reference Desk:
Monday: 10am - 4pm
Tuesday: 10am - 4pm
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm; 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 1pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services
