Scholarly Articles - FILM 395R/ITAL 376 - Cinema of Federico Fellini - Research Guides at Emory University Libraries

Recommended Databases for Film & Media Articles

These library databases contain full text and citations for scholarly articles, along with thorough indexing and frequently article abstracts as well. They are recommended as a starting point because of their comprehensive coverage in film and media studies. You can:

Filter your results for "scholarly journals" or 'peer reviewed."
Generate formatted bibliographic citations according to your preferred citation style.
Use the "Choose Databases" function to select multiple databases to search at the same time.

Some databases also index content from popular magazines, newspapers and trade journals that you may find useful for your research.

Full list of library databases with "Film & Media Studies" as a subject
A-Z Databases @ Emory (A full list of our database holdings)

TRY THESE FIRST

Film and Television Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains a large number of academic journals, trade journals, and popular periodicals pertaining to film, television and the entertainment industry. The older Variety film reviews in the “Variety Film Reviews” module are redacted and often have incorrect publication dates listed. This problem does not affect more recent Variety film reviews in the main portion of the database. For a more complete and accurate collection of older Variety film reviews, use the Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive database.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly and popular film journals.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, essay collections, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.

OTHER RECOMMENDED DATABASES

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Access a large collection of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as coverage of many international conference proceedings.
To search this database, select Search In: Web of Science Core Collection, and then under Editions you can select the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for books and articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories and universities, and more. To add a "Find It @ Emory" button, go to Library Links in the Settings menu, search for Emory, and click the "Find It @ Emory" box. NOTE: Unlike a library database, many sources found in Google Scholar require payment before providing full text; check library holdings of journal titles in Library Search or Interlibrary Loan before paying.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.

Get Articles through ILL

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL), you can get copies of articles that Emory doesn't own. When placing your request, be sure to:

provide a complete citation if at all possible;
mention the source (such as the database or book) where you found the citation.

You will be notified by email when your materials arrive. Electronic scans of articles may become available in a matter of days. Physical materials usually arrive in a week or two, or sooner if they come from libraries in our local borrowing network.