Film Reviews - FILM 395R/ITAL 376 - Cinema of Federico Fellini - Research Guides at Emory University Libraries

Locating Film Reviews

HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS AND MAGAZINES

New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Access New York Times articles dating back to 1851. Materials from 1851-1980 are available in either full-text or partial articles. Full text articles are available for all content post-1980.
Full-text searching and browsing capabilities are available. Users may choose to display and download in PDF format either the full image of any page or just the individual article they need. Additional years of coverage will be added annually.
Los Angeles Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Contains major daily newspaper from Los Angeles. Covers national, international, and local news.
Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover--of the notable newspaper, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements, back to the first issue. Full-text searching and browsing capabilities are available. Users may choose to display and download in PDF format either the full image of any page or just the individual article they need.
ProQuest History This link opens in a new window
Contains 38 historical databases covering primary sources such as newspapers, magazines, government documents, first-hand accounts, and more.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access various historical newspapers that span from the seventeenth to the twentieth century.
Formerly Early American Newspapers Digital.
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers publications from academic journals and popular magazines in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business.
Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.

HISTORICAL TRADE / INDUSTRY REVIEWS

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Access backfiles of Beat, Billboard, Boxoffice, Broadcasting & Cable, Melody Maker, Musician, New Musical Express, Spin, Variety, and other entertainment titles.

Media History Digital Library
An open-access collection of digitized media industry trade papers and fan magazines. In addition to high quality image scans of individual issues, it includes full-text searching. Many of these periodicals are not fully indexed or searchable elsewhere

Accessing Variety

Accessing Variety

Variety has long been the leading trade publication of the entertainment industry. Depending on what years you are researching, a few different sources are available.

The commercial website for Variety is important to be familiar with, but you will have to create citations manually for any articles you find there. These two scholarly databases are recommended because they not only provide comprehensive, full-text coverage of Variety, but they also provide citations for all of the articles they index.

1905-2000: Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive.

1999 - Present: Film and Television Literature With Full Text

For both databases:

Search normally. On the left you can filter by the publication title Variety (and Daily Variety in Film and Television Literature Index). OR
Use the “Advanced Search” function and enter Variety as the “Publication Title” together with your search terms. OR
Use the "Publications" link on top to go to the Variety landing page in the database to browse issues or search within the publication.

Both databases have other industry trade publications that are worth exploring in addition to Variety.

Alternative for the Classical Hollywood Studio Era: Media History Digital Library

Offers free and open access for the years 1905-1954, as well as access to a number of other trade journals.
You will have to create your own citations manually for any articles that you find.

Daily Variety Archives: The Woodruff Library also has access to the Daily Variety archives. Ask James Steffen for information about how to access. You must be a current Emory student or faculty member.