Research Guides: WGS 100W Gender Trouble (Main): Find Articles

Research Tips

For this class, I recommend starting your research with the databases in the box below, Excellent Places to Start.
For research on Freud, the PEP Archive database (see the box below) is a great resource.
If you do not see the full text of an article OR the blue "Find it @ Emory" button displayed below an article in a database, check your browser. The "Find it @ Emory" button should show up in Chrome.

Excellent Places to Start

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Covers information on women from journals, newsletters, research reports, government and international agencies. Focused towards the disciplines of sociology, psychology, law, health, education, and business.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers.
All titles are the full electronic version of record.
PEP Archive This link opens in a new window
A full-text, indexed collection of journals on psychoanalysis from 1920 onward.
Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes books and journals in philosophy and related fields. Covers ethics, aesthetics, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, and more.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Collection of international sources on women's studies journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, theses, web sites and documents, and more.
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.

Find Articles in Specific Journals

You can search within specific e-journals to find articles, also.

2.Type in the title of the journal in the search box. (See the "Selected Journal List" on the left side of this page for ideas.)

Example: Gender & Society

3.Select a Full Text option that has a good date range for your search (for this class, you are likely to be looking for more recent articles)

4.Log in to access the journal

5.You may search within the journal for articles (by topic or author, for example) - often there is a search box provided for doing this labeled, "Search within this journal" - OR you may browse journal issues or a larger database that includes the journal that you are interested in

More WGSS Resources

Women's Gender, and Sexuality Studies Research Guide (Main)
by Jennifer Elder Last Updated Nov 1, 2024 0 views this year

Additional Databases

APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides access to major peer-reviewed journals and scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, this biomedical database includes over 30 million citations and dates back to 1946.
These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Access material from the Education Resources Information Center, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. Includes articles, reports, guides, papers, and more.
Coverage is from 1966 - current.

Four Ways to Get the Full text of an Article

When you are searching for an article in a library database and you want to get the fulltext of the article, there are 4 possible scenarios you could face.

Scenario 1: The fulltext is available in the database you are searching. EASY! (click to view)

Scenario 2: The "Find it @ Emory" button leads you to the fulltext in another database. There are two steps in this process. (Click to view)

Scenario 3: The "Find it @ Emory" button does not lead to the fulltext, but we have the article in the print copy of the journal in the library stacks. There are 4 steps in this process. (PDF file)

Scenario 4: We do not have the article online or in print but you can order it using Interlibrary Loan. There are a number of steps to this process. (PDF file)

WGS 100W Gender Trouble (Main)