Biographical Databases & Texts
Profiles of African American Stage Performers and Theatre People, 1816-1960 by ISBN: 9780313295348Publication Date: 2000-10-30This directory includes over 500 African American performers and theater people who have made a significant contribution to the American stage from the early 19th century to the beginning of the civil rights movement of the 1960s.
Historical Dictionary of African American TheaterISBN: 9781538117293
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowAccess wide-ranging materials that focus on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture. Comprised of five major encyclopedias and additional reference sources from Oxford University Press.
Select Open Access Resources
- Internet Broadway DatabaseThe official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
Find info about a playwright
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, essay collections, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowProvides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers novelists, essayists, poets, journalists, and more.
- Literary Reference Source Plus This link opens in a new windowProvides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Materials include plot summaries, overviews, literary criticism, author biographies, and more.