Research Guides: African American Theater and Performance Research Guide (Main): Books

Library Catalogs

discoverE
Emory Library's Catalog

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Catalog of items held by libraries worldwide

Finding Books

Search discoverE

Search our library catalog, discoverE, for e-books. For detailed instructions on how to search discoverE for e-books, visit our guide on locating e-books.

Not finding what you need? You can contact us or request an e-book here.

Handbooks & Companions

To find other companions, handbooks, or bibliographies related to African American Theater you can search discoverE; however, individual articles can be hard to find. Also try searching the portals for particular artists, plays and performances.

Oxford Bibliographies, annotated bibliographies that provide a gateway to research in particular subfields of African American Studies.

Cambridge Companions, guides to various Native American literature topics.

Rutledge Handbooks, book-length companions to various topics.

Oxford Handbooks, reviews of scholarly literature.

Annual Reviews Online, reviews of scholarly literature in the sciences and social sciences.

Oxford Bibliography of African American Studies (2016-present)
Includes bibliographies on Theater and Performance in the 19th century and Theater in the 20th century.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Contains encyclopedia articles by or about African American people. A search for "Theater" includes general articles on the subject as well as overviews of the Black Theater Movement and specific companies and performance venues.
Cambridge Companion to African American Theater
Topics include Drama in the Harlem Renaissance, African American Women Dramatists, 1930-1960, The Black Arts Movement and others.
The Routledge Companion to African American Theater and Performance (2018)