Streaming Video Databases
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries.
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new windowCollection of documentary films in streaming video format for the visual study of human culture and behavior. Includes classic and contemporary documentaries, previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field, and select feature films.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy offers thousands of streaming videos on all subjects from a wide range of suppliers.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowSwank Digital Campus provides streaming access to feature films for research and teaching at Emory. These films may only be viewed through the Swank Digital Campus platform. The films do not have public performance rights. Please contact reserves@emory.edu to license a title on the platform.
Digital Content
Based in Berkeley, the archive is a "people-powered non-profit organization dedicated to documenting, preserving and sharing eye witness accounts from all ethnic, religious and economic communities affected by the Partition of British India in 1947." Oral histories can be accessed here.
Church Missionary Society Periodicals
This resource encompasses publications from the CMS, the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society. Documenting missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounters. See: periodicals targeting Indian women.
10 million digitized books searchable via DiscoverE. About 2.7 million of these are in the public domain and their full text is available online. Enter a search text under the combined search tab of the discoverE home page, and Hathi Trust will appear under the Collection category on the left side of the search result page if your search terms match any items indexed by Hathi Trust.
Online participatory archive of Indian family photographs with shared memories of contributors. Useful for social history. Website platform and Instagram handle.
Law Library Microform Consortium
The LLMC's digitized materials includes legal and government documents from India, among other countries, going back to the late 18th century. The interface lets you filter by country.
South Asian Born-Digital NGO Reports Collection Project (1985 - present)
Recent reports and documentation from and about South Asia produced by government agencies, NGOs, think tanks, community organizations, research centers, underground groups, religious sects, political parties, women’s groups, social activists, human rights organizations, LGBTQ advocacy groups, and other content creators.
South Asia Open Archives is a free open-access resource for research and teaching - a rich and growing curated collection of key historical and contemporary sources in arts, humanities and social sciences, from and about South Asia, in English and other languages of the region. SAOA's collection currently contains hundreds of thousands of pages of books, journals, newspapers, census data, magazines, and documents, with particular focus on social & economic history, literature, women & gender, and caste & social structure.
South and Southeast Asian Literature: Classical and Postcolonial Writers in English, 1825 to Present
South and Southeast Asian Literature is a searchable collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas. The colonial era publications are especially rich and include numerous women writers.
Tasveer Ghar (House of Pictures) is a "digital network of South Asian popular visual culture." See: the most recent essay series on masculinity in South Asia: Manly Matters.
More Library Guides
Consider checking out some of these other Emory research guides: