Articles - HIST 466W|MESAS 466W: India - the home and the world - Research Guides at Emory University Libraries

Multidisciplinary Scholarly Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.

Humanities Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic indexes pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. Particular emphasis on the humanities and social sciences.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journal articles, books reviews, and dissertations in modern world history (1450 to present) excluding the U.S. and Canada. Covers sources published from 1955 to present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, essay collections, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. Produced by the Modern Language Association.

Journals & Newspapers

Select Academic Journals

Economic and Political Weekly

Indian Journal of Gender Studies

Mārg [Modern Architectural Research Group]

The Indian Economic and Social History Review

South Asia: Journal of South Asian Studies

Newspapers

ProQuest historical newspapers. Times of India (1838-2010)

The oldest English-language newspaper in India, and the second-oldest Indian newspaper still in circulation since its first edition published in 1838. Covers the period of British colonization, nationalist movement, partition, and modern India.

World Newspaper Archive: South Asian Newspapers (Coverage: 1864-1922)

The collection will provide more than 400,000 fully searchable pages of newspapers published in South Asia between 1864 and 1922. Titles were published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

Official digital archive of the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. Search citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to present day, and access full text dissertations.

Shodhganga

Digital repository of Indian Electronic Theses and Dissertations.