HIST488 Professions in American History

Early American Newspapers, 1700-1922

• Chronicling America Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages.
• America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 Large digital collection of early American newspapers.
• Proquest Historical Newspapers Database of early twentieth century US newspapers including the Atlanta Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, New York Tribune, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.

Modern American Newspapers, 20th century​

• Lexis Nexis Academic News Digital archive of major world publications, newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and blogs from 1980 to the present.
• Newsbank Access World News Local newspaper coverage from the late 1980s/early 1990s to the present.
• Proquest Newspapers Database of early twentieth century US newspapers including the Atlanta Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, New York Tribune, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.

Early America

• American Periodicals Series Online
  A major primary source collection for historical research. Includes digitized images of American periodicals from the colonial period through the beginning of the 20th century. More than 1,000 periodicals from all fields will be covered in the completed product.
• HarpWeek (1857-1912)  Digital version of Harper's Weekly

20th century

• Opinion Archives
  Digital collection of current issues and backfiles of a number of leading U.S. opinion publications including the New Yorker (1925-present), the Nation (1865-present), Commentary (1945-present), the American Spectator (1967-present), the National Review (1955-present), New Republic (1914-present), Commonweal (1924-present), the New York Review of Books (1965-present), and Harper's (1850-present).
• News, Policy and Politics​​​​​​​ Access consumer magazines in the fields of news, policy, and politics. Titles include Newsweek, the UN Chronicle, the UNESCO Courier, and more.