Skip to Main Content
 
 

ARTHIST 475 Envisioning Baroque Rome (main)

ARTHIST 475RW/ARTHIST 759R - Envisioning Baroque Rome, This seminar will explore the buildings, topography, processions, and festivals of the seventeenth-century city, through maps, printed views, manuscripts, and guidebooks, with the goal of rebuilding t

Envisioning Baroque Rome

With specific focus on the work of the etcher Giovanni Battista Falda (1643-1678), students will immerse themselves in the neighborhoods of Baroque Rome, researching the history of specific monuments, streetscapes, and events. Paired with digital modelers, students will then collaborate to build, texture, and document their research for inclusion in the project. Throughout, we will study original materials in the Stuart A. Rose Library, the Michael C. Museum, and in private collections. 

Building a Bibliography of Secondary Sources

 

1.      Research is not a solitary activity – it’s a collaborative exercise!

Talk to a wide circle of fellow academics about your topic.  Get help from your ECDS collaborators, etc.  

2.      Follow the trail of footnotes and bibliographies in everything you read

Old-fashioned footnote chasing is still one of the best research strategies, even in the digital age.

3.      Search beyond  Library Search and Emory’s holdings

  • The WorldCat “metacatalog”: lists the holdings (books, manuscript and archival collections, government documents, and other materials – but NOT articles) of the great majority of libraries, especially in the United States but also outside of the U.S.

  • Emory's Readux 

  • Internet Archive 

  • The Center for Research Libraries:  makes available hard-to-find scholarly resources to Emory and its other institutional members. Its outstanding collections include more than 500,000 titles and 3.5 million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries. Most CRL materials may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.

  • Hathtitrust - The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of over sixty major research institutions and libraries in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations.

  • Google Books - Search the latest index of the world's books. Find millions of great books you can preview or read for free.

  • National and International Catalogs: many national libraries in industrialized countries now have online catalogs of their holdings, but for developing countries, you may need to travel to the library to learn what they have.  Europeana,  The Library Index (LibDex) , and Libweb all allow you to access catalogs by country or region.

4.      Browse the Stacks

There’s a reason why books in libraries are organized by subject! Once you’ve located a relevant title in the stacks (i.e. bookshelves), browse nearby shelves to locate other titles relating to the same topic. 

5.      Search databases for journal articles and other secondary literature

[Browse or search databases via the library’s Databases@Emory page]:

6.      Search other subject-specific databases relevant to your research topic

You can discover these by:

Kim Collins, your subject librarian

Please make a consultation with Kim Collins to discuss library resources