Skip to Main Content
 
 

ARTHIST 475 Envisioning Baroque Rome (main)

ARTHIST 475RW/ARTHIST 759R - Envisioning Baroque Rome, This seminar will explore the buildings, topography, processions, and festivals of the seventeenth-century city, through maps, printed views, manuscripts, and guidebooks, with the goal of rebuilding t

Emory Libraries Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, & Rare Book Library

To begin searching for materials housed in Rose Library, visit our website. Here, you will find information about our various holdings in manuscript collections, archives, and rare books. You may also want to begin to familiarize yourself with our holdings by visiting our Introduction to Collections page.

You can register and request materials through Emory’s Special Collections Request System, AEON.  Once you have found the materials you want to request, use the request links in the finding aid (for manuscript and archives collections) or the catalog record (for print materials in discoverE) to access the request system. You’ll be prompted to register if you do not already have an account. 

 

Another Map of Rome - CRUYL

Map of Rome CRUYL, Livino, and Matteo Gregorio de ROSSI. Pianta di Roma come si trova al presente ... L. Cruyl delin. Roma: G.B. de Rossi, 1665. http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/557276048  and http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/248613479
Published in 1665 by Giovanni Battista De Rossi, depicting Rome with both an iconographic and perspective system. 
Lievin Cruyl was a Flemish priest, draughtsman, and etcher.  Engraved by Giulio Testone on two copper plates. 
Depicts Rome toward the end of the reign of Pope Alexander VII. 

Understanding Finding Aids

The material in archival collections is housed in boxes and folders, and described in documents called Finding Aids. A finding aid will provide you with basic information about a collection's contents, a brief biography of the individual who created the collection, and any information about restrictions on use of the materials. Often, collections are broken down into series; for these collections, the finding aid will also contain a brief description of each series.

Last but not least, a finding aid contains a detailed list of the materials found in a collection. Here is a sample from the finding aid for the Confederate Miscellany collection (MSS20):

As you can see, this finding aid provides you with the names and dates of the letters contained in the collection. Not all finding aids will have this level of detail. A folder might be labeled "Correspondence, 1910-1920," or "Printed Material, Newspaper Clippings." Consider looking through these folders as well, even if you don't immediately know from the folder title that the material is relevant to your research. You never know what you might find!

HINT: Do not place quotes around your search term if using a phrase; our database is currently not capable of processing the quotation marks, and this will keep you from obtaining any search results.

When you find a collection you are interested in using, write down the collection name, its manuscript number (MSS number), and the boxes you would like to see. You can email all of this information to marbl@emory.edu prior to your research visit!

 

How to cite Rose Library resources

Rare books that are part of the Rose Library collection are cited using the same format you will use for general stacks books.

Manuscript Collections have their own form of citation. Different archives or special collections libraries may have slight variations in the way they ask that you cite their materials. For Rose collections, look at the first page of the finding aid, where the archivist has provided the preferred citation format for each collection. Generally, the citation will look at follows:

[identification of item(s)], [name of collection], Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library, Emory University.

Useful Links

The Rose Library is located in the Robert W. Woodruff Library in the heart of Emory University's main Atlanta campus. Special Collections are closed-stacks library which means that all of Rose Livrary's holdings are accessible only in our on-site reading room

Stuart A. Rose Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Books Library website

Primary Sources Research Guide

Using Rose Library

How do I find archives NOT at Emory?

These databases search finding aids, which are box-level descriptions of manuscript collections.

ArchiveGrid

‚ÄčGoogle Search: Search for a keyword and "finding aid" in Google

You can also use Worldcat to find archives and special collections.