Research Guides: ARTHIST 475 Envisioning Baroque Rome (main) : February 17th Library Session

Agenda

I. Welcome and Introductions

II. Readux

III. Finding Rare Books - Internet Archive

IV. Finding Images

Readux
Readux is an open source software platform developed at Emory University’s Emory Center for Digital Scholarship (ECDS).

more... less...

With Readux, you can:

Import materials and organize them into collections.
Conduct research with works and publish digital editions.
Teach with rare materials and have students comment directly on the works.
Readux - Falda's Rome
This collection highlights works related to the life and work of Giovanni Battista Falda from the Readux Views of Rome collection, which includes books that chronicle the Eternal City in text and image. This collection highlights works from the Emory University Rose Library collections, as well as a few held by other institutions.
Readux - Views of Rome
A collection proposed by Dr. Sarah McPhee and Dr. Eric Varner, Views of Rome includes books that chronicle the Eternal City in text and image over four centuries (16th-19th). These printed volumes document Rome's monuments through illustrations and maps combined with explanatory texts and constitute the primary way in which evolving assessments of the city were shared and disseminated prior to the advent of modern technologies.

Villa Pamphilia Example

Library Search Record: Barrière, Dominique, Giovanni Battista Falda, James Gibbs, and Giovanni Giacomo de Rossi. Villa Pamphilia, eiusque palatium, cum suis prospectibus, statuae, fontes, vivaria, theatra, areolae, plantarum, viarumque ordines, cum eiusdem villae absoluta delineatione. Romae: Formis Io. Iacobi de Rubeis, 1665-84 https://search.libraries.emory.edu/catalog/990026648040302486, Rose NB87 .R7 P2 1690 FOLIO

Worldcat record: http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/1180896220. Barrière, Dominique, Giovanni Battista Falda, James Gibbs, and Giovanni Giacomo de Rossi. Villa Pamphilia, eiusque palatium, cum suis prospectibus, statuae, fontes, vivaria, theatra, areolae, plantarum, viarumque ordines, cum eiusdem villae absoluta delineatione. Romae: Formis Io. Iacobi de Rubeis, 1665-84

Readux: Image View vs Thumbnail View, Villa Pamphilia : eiusque palatium, cum suis prospectibus, statuae, fontes, vivaria, theatr

Internet Archive Record: Villa Pamphilia : eiusque palatium, cum suis prospectibus, statuae, fontes, vivaria, theatra, areolae, plantarum, viarumque ordines, cum eiusdem villae absoluta delineatione. Romae : Formis Io. Iacobi de Rubeis ..., 1650. Internet Archive, http://archive.org/details/gri_33125012222218

Find Images

Artstor
Curated collections of digital images and associated data for non-commercial, scholarly, non-profit, and educational use.

832 results for "Falda" from all collections.

THE VILLA BORGHESE PALAZZI DI ROMA

Google Images

Use the TOOLS button to filter your Google Image results by LARGE size

Getty Research Institute

Getty Research Institute
The Getty Research Institute provides a unique environment for research, critical inquiry, and scholarly exchange. Use the Search Tools and Databases to find Digital Collections, etc.
Digital Collections in the Getty Library Catalog

MANUSCRIPT/ ARCHIVE
Collection of architectural prints and drawings of Renaissance sites in Rome, ca. 1600-ca. 1750
Collegio de S. Stanislao dei Pollacchi (Rome, Italy). Biblioteca.
ca. 1600-ca. 1750

Online Access

Pare 45

Page 44 -