Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

ARTHIST 480 Winslow Homer in Context

Explore the art and life of Winslow Homer (1836–1910) and gain expertise in research, documentation, analysis, criticism, expository writing, and citation.

Get Help

Get help with writing

Get help with citations

  • Visit Purdue OWL for detailed information on a variety of citation styles.  For this class, please use Chicago.

EndNote & Zotero

Manage citations with Zotero or EndNote.

  • Collect citations online.
  • Organize them however you like.
  • Format bibliographies automatically.

Need help getting started? Use the EndNote or Zotero guide.

Zbib

ZoteroBib (Zbib) is a free service that helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software. It’s brought to you by the team behind Zotero, the powerful open-source research tool recommended by thousands of universities worldwide, so you can trust it to help you seamlessly add sources and produce perfect bibliographies.

Avoid Plagiarism

Using the work of another scholar without proper citation, whether that work is available in print or online, is plagiarism, a violation of the Emory Honor Code. See the Citing your Sources guide for more information.

Zotero

Chicago

What is Chicago style citation?

Chicago style is typically used in history and other humanities disciplines. There are two types of Chicago style: The author-date style uses parenthetical citations, which means that the citation information is within parentheses beside the quoted or paraphrased information. The note-bibliography (NB) style requires the use of footnotes or endnotes, which means that the citation information is either at the foot of the page or at the end of the article and is noted at the end of the quoted or paraphrased text with a number in superscript. 

How do I cite in Chicago style?

For help with Chicago style, see the following resources:

  • You can copy and paste a reference cited in Chicago style directly from many library databases and from Google Scholar (to cite from Google Scholar, click on the quotation mark underneath the reference).
  • You can also use a citation manager software, like Zotero or EndNote.

Building a Bibliography

As serious researchers at the Honors level, it’s important that you begin to branch out from basic search strategies and think more broadly about the wide range of ways in which you can build your honors bibliography of secondary literature.  Some strategies you’ll want to consider appear below ...

1.      Research is not a solitary activity – it’s a collaborative exercise!

Talk to a wide circle of fellow academics about your topic, including your thesis advisor; other professors - perhaps outside the Art History Department or even outside of Emory - who have done research on your topic; fellow students, AND (last but not least!) librarians who specialize in your area of research who can help you unearth both secondary and primary sources both at Emory and elsewhere.

2.      Follow the trail of footnotes and bibliographies in everything you read

Old-fashioned footnote chasing is still one of the best research strategies, even in the digital age.

3.      Search beyond discoverE, and Emory’s holdings

  • The WorldCat “metacatalog”: lists the holdings (books, manuscript and archival collections, government documents, and other materials – but NOT articles) of the great majority of libraries, especially in the United States but also outside of the U.S.

  • The Center for Research Libraries:  makes available hard-to-find scholarly resources to Emory and its other institutional members. Its outstanding collections include more than 500,000 titles and 3.5 million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries. Most CRL materials may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.

  • The Digital Public Library of America: A digital library that makes materials available online from America's libraries, archives, and museums.

  • Hathtitrust - The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of over sixty major research institutions and libraries in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations.

  • Google Books - Search the latest index of the world's books. Find millions of great books you can preview or read for free.

  • National and International Catalogs: many national libraries in industrialized countries now have online catalogs of their holdings, but for developing countries, you may need to travel to the library to learn what they have.  Europeana,  The Library Index (LibDex) , and Libweb all allow you to access catalogs by country or region.

4.      Browse the Stacks (virtually in 20-21)!

There’s a reason why books in libraries are organized by subject! Once you’ve located a relevant title in the stacks (i.e. bookshelves), browse nearby shelves to locate other titles relating to the same topic. You can also browse the stacks virtually by using discoverE's browse shelf function - enter all or part of a call number and then scan backwards and forwards through our holdings.

5.      Search databases for journal articles and other secondary literature

[Browse or search databases via the library’s Databases@Emory page]:

6.      Search other subject-specific databases relevant to your research topic

You can discover these by:

  • Perusing our subject-specific Research Guides.

  • Using the “Find by Subject” and “Find by Category” menus on our Databases@Emory page.  Use the Archives & Primary Sources databases category to browse a list of many of the library’s online primary source collections.

  • Consulting a subject librarian.LASTLY – when you are no longer discovering new relevant citations ...

it’s time to stop searching and start reading!