Research Guides: ARTHISTARTHIST 369 Art of Winslow Homer: Finding Articles (Databases)

Databases (Art History)

Art & Architecture Source
Includes magazine and journal articles, book reviews and conference proceedings, podcasts and more regarding fine arts, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. Covers sources from 1914 to the present with selected full text.
Index to Nineteenth-Century American Art Periodicals
Access an index for art periodicals that were published in the United States during the 19th century.
International Bibliography of Art (see also BHA)
Indexes of journals, monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogues. Focuses on European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945.
JSTOR
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.

Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Oxford Art Online
Access a wide-variety of art resources across Oxford’s art reference works. Includes articles, visual arts, digital images, biographies, bibliographies, encyclopedias, and more.

Databses (American History)

America: History and Life

Prominent source for scholarly journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations in U.S. & Canadian history. Covers sources published from the 1960s to present.
HarpWeek
Contains scanned images of all the pages of Harper's Weekly together with a series of indexes.
Historical Abstracts

Access scholarly journal articles, books reviews, and dissertations in modern world history (1450 to present) excluding the U.S. and Canada. Covers sources published from 1955 to present.
JSTOR
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.

Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.

JSTOR - Searching Tips

You can narrow search results to the fields JSTOR uses for categorization of metadata. Each field is represented in a search by its abbreviation. The example above (au:smith) will find all items for which Smith is listed as an author. Appending ty:fla to a search ("Winslow Homer" ty:fla) will limit a search to full-length articles, and ty:brv will limit a search to book reviews.

Other frequently used field abbreviations are:

jo: Journal title field jo:burlington
la: Language la:eng = English
vo: Journal Volume field vo:134