Research Guides: ARTHISTARTHIST 369 Art of Winslow Homer: Primary Sources

Historic Newspapers

Accessible Archives
Digital collections of important 19th century African American and Civil War newspapers.
NewspaperArchive
Large collection of digital newspapers.
America's Historical Newspapers
1700s-1900s, Major urban and local newspapers.
Boston Globe Historical
Access the Boston Globe newspaper from 1872-1986
The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)
The Guardian and its sister paper, The Observer include news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more.
New York Times Historical (Coverage: 1851-2003)
Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover.

more... less...

Full-text searching and browsing capabilities are available. Users may choose to display and download in PDF format either the full image of any page or just the individual article they need. Additional years of coverage will be added annually.

Note: If you receive the error "ProQuest is unable to authenticate your user account," use the ProQuest cookie cutter to correct it.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Emory log-in required.
The Times Digital Archive
Full page and article images of the Times (London) with searchable full text, including searchable advertisements and photographs, back to the first issue.

more... less...

The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. This archive does not include the Sunday Times, a newspaper independent of the Times. Coverage: 1785-1985 (Use LexisNexis Academic for Times issues July 1, 1985 to present)

Historical American Sources

American Periodicals Series Online
Access American periodicals from the colonial period through the beginning of the 20th century.
Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800)
Contains a large collection of materials published in the United States between 1639 and 1800. Contents include books, pamphlets, broadsides, and more.
Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
The continuation of Readex's Early American Imprints: Series I. access primary source material based on the bibliography by Ralph B. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. Content include books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century.

Primary Resources Available Online

Archives of American Art: Terra Foundation Center for Digital Collections
Over 125 archival collections available in their entirety and more than 12,000 additional individual documents.
American Memory by Library of Congress Provides information on, and access to, the digitized version of the Library of Congress primary-source collections on American history and culture, including photographs, documents, sound recordings, and motion pictures.