Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

ARTHIST 480 Winslow Homer in Context

Explore the art and life of Winslow Homer (1836–1910) and gain expertise in research, documentation, analysis, criticism, expository writing, and citation.

Finding Full-Text

BOOKS - start your search with discoverE and if the full-text facet is not offering you enough results, consider expanding to the COMBINED tab. 

ARTICLES - When you are searching for an article in a library database and you want to get the full-text of the article, there are 4 possible scenarios you could face.

Scenario 1: The full-text is available in the database you are searching. EASY! Just click the full-text link.

Scenario 2: The "Find it @ Emory" button   leads you to the full-text in another database. There are two steps in this process:

  • Click the Find it @ Emory button.
  • Click on the link to the resource that is listed after "Full text available at:"

Scenario 3: The "Find it @ Emory" button does not lead to the full-text, but the Libraries own the print copy of the journal. 

  • Search the journal title in discoverE. You can limit your search using "Journals" in the drop-down below the search box.
  • When you find the record for the journal, click the "Locate/Request Item" tab to see what volumes we have.
  • If you find your volume and it's located in the library you are in, you can use the call number to find the volume in the bookstacks.
  • If you find your volume and it's located at a different library or the Library Service Center, you can request the volume if you log in to discoverE (use "Log In" at top right of discoverE). Another option is to request just the article you need using the "Request Article or Chapter" tab in discoverE -- if available. This will give you the option of getting the article scanned for you.

Scenario 4: We do not have the article online or in print but you can request it using our Interlibrary Loan service. (Click the "Locate/Request Item" tab and then "Request via Interlibrary Loan" to have the request form pre-filled for you.)

JSTOR - Searching Tips

How to Search JSTOR Guide

You can narrow search results to the fields JSTOR uses for categorization of metadata. Each field is represented in a search by its abbreviation. The example above (au:smith) will find all items for which Smith is listed as an author. Appending ty:fla to a search ("Winslow Homer" ty:fla) will limit a search to full-length articles, and ty:brv will limit a search to book reviews. 

Other frequently used field abbreviations are:

  • jo: Journal title field                   jo:burlington 
  • la: Language                             la:eng = English
  • vo: Journal Volume field           vo:134

Historic Newspapers

Historical American Sources

America's Early Imprints This full text database offers the content of Charles Evans' American Bibliographyof more than 36,000 works published in this country between 1639 and 1800, the bibliography by Ralph B. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker with full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century, searchable facsimile images of broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. Based on the American Antiquarian Society's collections and Afro-Americana imprints from Library Company of Philadelphia 1535-1922

 

American Periodicals Series Online (1740 - 1900)A major primary source collection for historical research. Includes digitized images of American periodicals from the colonial period through the beginning of the 20th century. More than 1,000 periodicals from all fields.

ProQuest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional Universe)

Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800)

Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)

American Periodicals Series Online

 

Met Video: Insider Insights—A Closer Look at Winslow Homer