Skip to Main Content
Emory University Emory Libraries

Remote Collections Support and Access (Summer and Fall 2020 Phased Reopening)

Emory Libraries Updates and Contacts

The Emory Libraries are making plans for how to best handle current challenges and uncertainty surrounding the COVID-19 situation. We are here for you and want to work with you to find ways to continue to support your teaching and research. 

There is a lot of information to navigate as we move to the remote environment for the rest of the Spring 2020 semester. The main thing to remember is that you can always contact the Emory Libraries for help. We are here to work with you and your students as we navigate these challenges.

Librarians and staff at the Emory Libraries are working to support instructors and students with access to our collections and research materials, as they transition to the remote environment.​ Our guide on collection resources provides information on accessing and requesting needed content for successful completion of research projects and teaching assignments. This guide is being frequently updated as we work with vendors, library partners and finetune internal workflows.

 

How do I access Emory's digital collections remotely?

The following are some guides and resources on accessing Emory Libraries resources remotely. 

DiscoverE Tricks for Online Resources:

  • Use the facet (left-hand navigation) and select "full-access online" OR for e books, go under "Resource Type"
  • Log-in to DiscoverE to make requests for physical materials, scans, or resources
  • Use the "Combined Search" for more expansive e-resource searching.

 

How can I access physical collections during the Library's Phased Reopening?

Please use discoverE to make requests for physical items, or contact your subject librarian, 

  • For local users, depending on your registration status for being on campus, you may material for physical pickup.You will need to wait until you receive email confirmation to set up an appointment! For more information, please see our web page on borrowing materials.
  • For remote users, our preference remains to provide an e-copy alternative when available. We may be able to send you a duplicate copy or our own copy, on a case by case basis. Please consider using tables of contents of materials (e.g., through Google Books) to determine if you need an entire book, or just a small selection through document delivery before placing requests. Also, consider Open Library as an option for texts (see below)!
  • Please note that it may take up to 5 days to fulfill your request. Some materials could take longer, particularly during high volume periods. Please consider Open Library and document delivery as options.
  • You may also work directly with your subject librarian purchase an e-book copy, when available, of a text we own in physical version.

To request materials:

  1. Login to discoverE.
  2. Search for your item & click on the record
  3. Click on the "locate/request item" and click on "request" and choose your library. Please click on the tab for "request an article or chapter" if you just need a small portion of the desired text. You will receive an email to set up an appointment to pick up the title.

 

How Can I Use the Internet Archive Open Library to Access Print Titles in the Library?

If you are working remotely and/or need quick access to a print book in our Stacks, you may want to consider using the Open Library from the Internet Archive. Just copy and paste the title from discoverE into the search box, and see if it is available. Note that if the title is unavailable, please contact your subject librarian for other options.

The Internet Archive and participating libraries have selected digitized books from their collections that are available to be borrowed by one patron at a time from anywhere in the world for free. These books are available in BookReader for most, and usually in PDF and ePub formats for download. You can choose which format you prefer as you complete the borrowing process.

BookReader editions may be read online immediately in your web browser. No special software is required. Other Internet Archive loans are managed through Adobe Digital Editions and will require software installation on your computer or device.

You can borrow a title to read online for 1 hour, or check it out for a period of 14 days. Even if the title is checked out, you can still read online for the 1 hour!

Quick instructions:

(1) search for title of interest

(2) click on title availabiliity. There may be multiple versions available.

(3) to read online, click on "Borrow" under the book cover image

(4) to check out longer, look under "availability" and if not checked out, click on "check out"

For more information, see here: https://openlibrary.org/help/faq/borrow

Where can I locate e-books to support my teaching and my research?

The Emory Libraries have over 1.2 million e-books in our collections from a large number of providers and vendors. We are expanding e-book access to meet research and teaching needs.

For questions around access and use of our e-book collections, you are highly encouraged to utilize our newly refreshed e-books libguide.

Please contact your subject librarian directly, or complete the purchase request form, to determine if we can gain access to e-versions for materials for your research or teaching. Please note that not all titles are available from distributors and publishers as multi-use titles for course materials, so you may want to consider scanning of relevant sections on Course Reserves and/or working with your subject librarian about options to maximize availability and access (read-only access, for example). Also, the Library can not purchase titles designed for individual purchase, such as Kindle.

Here are some of our most popular collections. 

You can search DiscoverE for our subscribed content to most of these collections. Databases@Emory also contains links to most our e-book collections! 

Leisure Reading

What streaming video services can the Library provide during this time?

We are more than happy to see if we can acquire streaming access for your course.  However, there may be cases when the time required to acquire permissions, lack of institutional purchase options, digitize existing DVD/VHS content, and upload content (in terms of distributor response and capacity) may not match up with class needs. Many of our vendors are indeed working to expedite and make more streaming titles available for free or reduced fee under the current circumstances. We will work with you to explore alternatives and options to meet your curricular needs. PLEASE PLAN AHEAD!

Please send any requests for streaming access to physical media content to your subject librarian or to Course Reserves, or use the new streaming video request form. 

  • Note that there will be some cases when streaming access is not feasible, so alternatives may be necessary!

Here are some key streaming services/platforms to which we have some, or complete, access. NOT ALL TITLES are available on selected sites, as we license titles individually (e.g., Kanopy). It is best to check discoverE for specific titles (with exception below for Swank).

 

Now Available!: 20th Century Fox Collection from Infobase and Digitalia, Spanish-language streaming video! Links are already in discoverE!