Gale World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean Archive brings together in a single place a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and more.
This encyclopedia covers Latin American History. Articles are written by experts in the field. Areas of scholarship include intellectual, labor, social and urban histories, family and children, gender and sexuality and slavery and abolition.
Guide to scholarly literature in the field of Latin American Studies. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
Latin America, a region of 20 countries and over 569 million people, is not new, the bringing together of various disciplinary approaches according to a single geographic region represents a fairly recent shift. Latin American studies includes a vast range of disciplinary perspectives, including history, sociology, economics, anthropology, and political science. Area studies in general have proliferated in the latter half of the twentieth century and Latin American studies in particular has been propelled forward as a distinct field of study by major international changes, such as the end of the Cold War. As the field continues to grow, to shape and be shaped by global politics, scholars are faced with an ever-increasing amount of new information. Scholars must constantly consider new discoveries, new interpretations, and new theoretical ideas in the field. The multidisciplinary nature of Latin American studies makes it particularly challenging to stay informed about every applicable area. A great deal of this work has moved online with the most recent scholarship, research, and statistics appearing in online databases.
The Encyclopedia of Caribbean Religions is the definitive reference for Caribbean religious phenomena from a Caribbean perspective. Generously illustrated, this landmark project combines the breadth of a comparative approach to religion with the depth of understanding of Caribbean spirituality as an ever-changing and varied historical phenomenon. Organized alphabetically, entries examine how Caribbean religious experiences have been shaped by and have responded to the processes of colonialism and the challenges of the postcolonial world.
Draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
This encyclopedia covers the Latin American and Caribbean region. It examines both contemporary issues such as economic and population growth, trade and international debt, tourism and the environment, and the longer-term factors that have moulded Latin America.
[ONLINE] The Encyclopedia of Caribbean Religions by ISBN: 9780252037238Publication Date: 2013-08-30The Encyclopedia of Caribbean Religions is the definitive reference for Caribbean religious phenomena from a Caribbean perspective. Generously illustrated, this landmark project combines the breadth of a comparative approach to religion with the depth of understanding of Caribbean spirituality as an ever-changing and varied historical phenomenon. Organized alphabetically, entries examine how Caribbean religious experiences have been shaped by and have responded to the processes of colonialism and the challenges of the postcolonial world.
[ONLINE] Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by ISBN: 1849723338Publication Date: 2008-08-26Draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean by ISBN: 0521413222Publication Date: 1992-09-25This encyclopedia covers the Latin American and Caribbean region. It examines both contemporary issues such as economic and population growth, trade and international debt, tourism and the environment, and the longer-term factors that have moulded Latin America.
