Research Guides: Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Books

Finding Books in the Catalog (including eBooks)

Use Library Search – the Emory University Libraries' tool for searching the library catalog, databases, journal titles and other digital collections.

Library Search (Catalog)
Use the Emory Libraries' Catalog to locate books and other resources.

Emory doesn't own a copy of a book? Request it via Interlibrary Loan!

Emory's Interlibrary Loan service can get items for you from libraries outside Emory. The service is free!

To get started, create an account on ILLIAD, the Interlibrary Loan system.

Finding Books on the Web

Browse the resources below for digitized materials.

Digital Collections of the Ibero-American Institute This link opens in a new window
The Ibero-American Institute (IAI) is an interdisciplinary center for academic and cultural exchange between Germany and Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. It is home to the largest specialist library in Europe for the Ibero-American region.
Digitalia Hispánica This link opens in a new window
[Access provided by the Emory Libraries] Digitalia is full text source with an interface in English and Spanish that offers a large catalog of e-book titles from Spanish publishers and selected magazines in digital format. Publishers included in the database include Anthropos, Universidad de Alicante, Universidad de Zaragoza and the Universidade da Coruna. The database is divided into collections for Art, General Reference Works, Geography & Anthropology, History, Language & Literature, Performing Arts, Philosophy & Religion, Science, and Social Sciences.
Latino Literature This link opens in a new window
[Access provided by the Emory Libraries] The most comprehensive collection of Latino Literature yet created. When complete it will include 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry and 450 plays, representing the Chicano culture and all the different ethnicities of Latin American writers with a Hispanic background working in the United States. Although the collection includes materials from the Nineteenth Century, the vast majority of the materials are from the Chicano Renaissance to the present.

Portal de libros electrónicos (Universidad de Chile)
The Portal de libros electrónicos of the University of Chile provides full text access to a number of works that are either original (books published by the University of Chile) or of historical value.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Access a large digital library of materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization projects. You may need to Click the "Log In" button and choose "Emory University" from the drop-down menu. Select "continue" and then enter your EID and password when prompted. The mobile version of HathiTrust allows online reading and download of public domain books from mobile devices. The HathiTrust is a partnership of more than 80 major academic and research libraries.