Need Help?
Reference Resources and Bibliographies
Reference sources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, or guides to the literature are a great way to find background information on a topic as well as build a vocabulary for searching within and across disciplines.
General Reference Resources
- Oxford Reference Online. Includes full text content from more than 170 subject dictionaries, language reference, and subject reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Subject Specific Resources
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies of scholarly literature on a range of subjects. Each subject is subdivided into articles covering major areas of research. The articles are written by established scholars. The following list includes a few places to start for this course.
- Annual Reviews: Database of literature reviews published in the social sciences and sciences.
Fieldwork Resources
Click on the title to get to the catalog record. To find additional sources use keywords like anthropology fieldwork, or ethnographic methods in the library catalog. Keep in mind that many other fields use ethnographic methods when deciding if a source is suitable for your project.
Tutorials and Handouts
-
Picking Your Topic IS Research!When you pick your topic, it's not set in stone. Picking and adjusting your topic is an integral part of the research process!
-
One Perfect Source?Your topic seemed so great! So why can't you find any information on it? If you're looking for an all-in-one source that addresses your topic perfectly, you might need a different approach.
-
Evaluating Information - Applying the CRAAP TestA detailed list of questions to help you decide if the information you're finding is reliable.
Configuring Your Computer for Emory Resources
These steps will provide you with a basic configuration that will help you save time by adding menu shortcuts and using reference management software.
- Install the Emory browser plugin
- This is a plugin provides direct access to Emory library resources.
- Configure your Google Scholar settings to recognize Emory library resources.
- Search for Emory on the "Library Links" page. Save your settings.
- Choose your reference management software. Many options are available, but the following three are the most commonly used at Emory.
- Check the list of upcoming workshops for relevant sessions.
- Emory Libraries offers workshops in EndNote, Zotero, ArcGIS, research data management, copyright law, electronic thesis/dissertation submission, graduate test preparation, and other topics.
Having trouble connecting to the Emory wireless network?
- See this guide for help with connecting and configuring your devices.
- Visit Student Technology Support.