What is a scholarly journal?
Scholarly journals contain articles written by experts for experts. Articles are reviewed by other experts before they are published. This is called peer review. A scholarly article typically has information about authors (such as credentials and affiliations), an abstract, footnotes/bibliography, and perhaps extensive statistics or charts. Authors often provide at least a brief review of the literature on the subject. Many databases allow you to restrict your searches to scholarly journals, sometimes called "refereed" journals.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Advanced Scholar Options to refine your search!
Need Help?
Comprehensive or Multidisciplinary Databases
-
JSTORProvides searchable full-text access to backfiles (usually does not include issues of journals published within the last 5 years) of key scholarly journals in many fields including African American studies, African studies, anthropology, archaeology, Asian studies, business, classical studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, geography, history, history of science, language and literature, Latin American studies, mathematics, Middle East studies, philosophy, political science, population studies, Slavic studies, sociology, and statistics.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1952-present.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowProduced by the National Library of Medicine, this biomedical database includes over 30 million citations and dates back to 1946.
Find many more databases at databases @ Emory.