Public Policy Research at Emory

These reports are prepared by the Congressional Research Service (CRS). CRS serves as nonpartisan shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. Many of these CRS reports are also available in ProQuest Congressional. These reports are particularly useful in highlighting new aspects of policy, placing them in context, and reviewing their implications.

Subscription service that indexes congressional activity (debates, hearings, reports, etc). Significant full text. If full text is unavailable, you can do a Google search, or go to Congress.gov, which contains more recent hearings and reports from committees.

legislative branch government agency that provides auditing, evaluation, and investigative services for the United States Congress. Policy archive goes back to 1977. In particular, check the evidence synthesis primer.

Federal agency within the legislative branch of the United States government that provides budget and economic information to Congress. In particular, assesses budget impacts of various legislative proposals. Also regularly publishes data that accompanies its reports (usually as part of the Budget and Economic Outlook and Updates).

Builds off of ProQuest Congressional and provides detailed histories of major legislation, working in links to relevant congressional documents, including hearings, reports and debate.

Official journal of the federal government of the United States that contains government agency rules, proposed rules, and public noticesThe FR online goes back to 1994. Includes:
Presidential Documents (executive orders and proclamations)
Rules and Regulations (including policy statements and interpretations of rules by federal agencies)
Proposed Rules (including petitions to agencies from the public)
Notices (such as scheduled hearings and meetings open to the public and grant applications)

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. Of particular interest is the List of CFR sections affected (LSA)