Skip to Main Content
Emory University Emory Libraries

Economics Guide

This guide is meant to assist students in accessing and gathering bibliographic resources to support their Honors projects. For data resources, check out the Data Resources for Economists guide.

Finding Articles

    • EconLit with Full Text(1969 to present)
      • THE most comprehensive and respected database in the field of economics. Produced by the American Economic Association, it indexes scholarly economics literature from journals, books, dissertations, and working papers. A good feature of this database is the "narrow by subject" option to the left of your search.
    • Scopus (SciVerse Scopus)
      • The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with bibliometric tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
    • Business Source Complete
      • Industry reports, surveys, news, academic articles, etc. are all included here.  Very useful in particular for searching about specific industries, sectors, etc. Use lefthand navigation to refine your search as well as the dropdown menu.
    • Social Sciences Abstracts
      • Indexes core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations.

     
     
 

JEL Classification Codes

  • The JEL Classification Codes provide an outline of subjects in economics. You can drill down from a broad to a narrower topic to get ideas for a theses topic. The Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) organizes its reviewed articles using this system, and these descriptors are assigned to articles and books indexed in EconLit.