Skip to main content
 
 

Economics Guide

This guide is meant to assist students in accessing and gathering bibliographic resources to support their Honors projects. For data resources, check out the Data Resources for Economists guide.

Configuring Your Computer for Advanced Research

  1. Bookmark this guide and this page for appointments.
  2. Install the Emory browser plugin 
    • There are several other useful plugins for direct access to Emory library resources, such as Libkey Nomad.
    • You can always add the proxy URL in front of any web page to determine if Emory has licensed access to the resource (particularly useful when on the open web): http//proxy.library.emory.edu/login?url=
  3. Be sure you are logged into discoverE!
  4. Configure your Google Scholar settings to recognize Emory library resources.
    • Search for Emory on the "Library Links" page. Save your settings.
  5. Choose your reference management software. Many options are available, but the following three are the most commonly used at Emory.
  6. Check the list of upcoming workshops for relevant sessions.
    • Emory Libraries offers workshops in EndNote, Zotero, ArcGIS, research data management, copyright law, electronic thesis/dissertation submission, graduate test preparation, and other topics.

Having trouble connecting to the Emory wireless network?

 

 

Access to Materials in the Stacks

Please use discoverE to make requests for physical items, or contact your subject librarian.

  • For local users, depending on your registration status for being on campus, you may material for physical pickup.You will need to wait until you receive email confirmation to set up an appointment! For more information, please see our web page on borrowing materials.
  • For remote users, our preference remains to provide an e-copy alternative when available. We may be able to send you a duplicate copy our own copy, on a case by case basis. Please consider using tables of contents of materials (e.g., through Google Books) to determine if you need an entire book, or just a small selection through document delivery before placing requests. Also, consider Open Library as an option for texts (see below)!
  • Please note that it may take up to 5 days to fulfill your request. Some materials could take longer, particularly during high volume periods. Please consider Open Library and document delivery as options.
  • You may also work directly with your subject librarian purchase an e-book copy, when available, of a text we own in physical version, or use the purchase request form. Your subject librarian may also help you to see if there are other alternatives. 

To request materials:

  1. Login to discoverE.
  2. Search for your item & click on the record
  3. Click on the "locate/request item" and click on "request" and choose your library. Please click on the tab for "request article or chapter" if you just need a small portion of the desired text. 
  4. We will soon have an option for remote/personal delivery available. For now, pick your desired delivery desk, whether remote or local. You will receive an email for staff indicating next steps in fulfilling your request, whether it be a print copy being sent, or an e-copy being ordered or provided.

 

discoverE

  • In your discoverE search results, under “Show only” on the left, select “Full Access Online” to limit the results to online items only, which includes e-books, eJournals, streaming audio and video.
     
  • Use discoverE’s “Combined” tab for a broad set of search results that includes everything in the Catalog tab but adding millions of journal articles, more e-books, and other e-resources. You can also limit these search results to “Full Access Online” and the “Collection” facet on the left lists the databases searched. Use Databases @ Emory for comprehensive searches in individual databases.
     
  • Really need electronic access to an article, book chapter or other resource, but discoverE says “No Online Access?” Sign-in to discoverE at the top right, open the item, go to the Locate/Request Item tab, and click on the “Look for Open Access version” link if available. This will search for a free version online.
     
  • If no online access is available, Emory users can sign-in to discoverE and submit a request for the physical item on the item record screen. Library staff will first make a concerted effort to identify an online version for you. 

Document Delivery and ILL

All Emory faculty and library staff are eligible for document delivery (scanned articles or chapters) from the Emory Libraries. Eligible materials include journal articles and book chapters from the print collections in participating libraries. Learn how to place a document delivery request.

For items that are not owned by Emory University Librairies, please consider using our Interlibrary Loan services, and/or contacting me so we can potentially purchase a copy for our collection. Currently, the amount of interlibrary lending available is dependent upon the number of libraries offering these services. If we can not find a copy via ILL, we may also purchase a title for you (if available).