Britain and the World

The collection covers more than 200 years of accounts from newspapers from England, Ireland, Scotland and a handful of papers from British colonies in the Americas and Asia.

It is the sister product to 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (1604-1800).

In 8,000 issues and more than 600,0000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables. Altogether this is a unrivalled multidisciplinary primary source for researching and teaching the 19th and 20th centuries. This is an ongoing archive.

This historical database includes the Times’ full coverage of the British Raj, Independence, and Partition. An additional year of content will be added to this database annually.

**Advanced search by index types: Entire document, article title, author, page number, issue number, document number or keyword**Browse by issue

Coverage: 1785-1985 (Use LexisNexis Academic for Times issues July 1, 1985 to present)

The new edition enables users to full-text search more than one hundred years of the Times Literary Supplement, allowing them to trace the views of influential opinion makers, such as T.S. Eliot, Virginia Woolf, A.N. Wilson, and Christopher Hitchins, and see the responses of their contemporaries. Coverage: 1902-2006.

With so much material now being published on the world wide web in either un-reviewed form, or in fee-based services, the IHR has shown its commitment to promoting the study of history by publishing these priceless resources for their historical value, cross-searchable, in one place and free of charge.Highlights include sources relating to national and local government (excluding Parliament), and the development of British law. Sources relating to the churches, religious houses and other religious groups. Records of commerce and trade, taxation, population and property. Sources relating to art and architecture, science and the history of ideas. Historical and topographical sources relating to specific places. Parliamentary history: Sources relating to proceedings and legislation in the two Houses of Parliament at Westminster and sources for metropolitan London and other urban centres.

Documents include records made by the East India Company and the records of missionaries from the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel. The collection contains a range of sources that relate to both politics and history, these range from the Parliamentary Labour Party papers and the Anti-fascist newsletters of the International Transport Workers' Federation to the records of the Communist Party of Great Britain, and on to The British Union of Fascists’ newspapers and secret files.

The database also contains the Calendar of the State Papers Colonial: North America and West Indies, which includes bibliographic descriptions of documents from COI and other Colonial Office Files.

Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

Sources include Exploration journals and logs; Letter books and correspondence; Periodicals; Diaries; Official Government Papers; Missionary papers; Travel writing; Slave papers; Memoirs; Fiction; Children's Adventure Stories; Traditional; folk tales; Exhibition Catalogues and guides; Maps; Marketing Posters; Photographs; and Illustrations. Indexing by period, by date, by person and subject. Coverage: 1492-present.

Sources range from the papers of key East India Company representatives and colonial officials to records of daily life in Agra, Bombay, Lahore, and Madras. There are original Indian manuscripts containing histories and literary works, as well as accounts of wars, discussions of Indian Nationalism and papers of tea and coffee planters.

Covers not only domestic politics but also major foreign policy challenges including the erection of Berlin Wall, the Cuban Missile, Crisis and the dissolution of the British empire. Includes scholarly essays to provide context.

It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections--the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School--plus supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection at Columbia University and the Sterling Library at Yale. It provides full-text searching capability for thousands of primary source materials documenting the emergence of modern economics and other social sciences, as well as the expansion of world trade, the Industrial Revolution, and the development of modern capitalism. Writings of major economists, as well as pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, and hundreds of serials, are included.

The first type includes surveys, collections of emphemera, accounts of ‘overheards’ and covert observations of the general public, while the volunteer material is personal accounts of individual lives provided by the amateur observers from MO’s ‘National Panel’. The database includes File Reports, 1937-1972 on topics such as popular culture, consumerism, branding and fashion, sex, marriage, and the family, as well as attitudes to war, politics and America, Russia and Europe. There are also MO publications, diaries, directives, and 140,000 full color digital images.

Set against a backdrop of colonial expansion, industrial progress and global conflict; Migration to New Worlds tells the stories of individuals and families who risked everything to build new lives in North America and Australasia between 1800 and 1980. Unique primary source diaries, correspondence, photographs, oral histories and journals narrate the vivid realities of ocean travel and life in adopted homelands.

◦Emory Libraries has access to four collections in this database:
◦Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
◦British Politics and Society
◦British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
◦European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
Coverage: 1700-1916

This digital manuscript archive gathers together 16th- and 17th-century British State Papers and links them to their fully text-searchable calendars, offering scholars unprecedented access to the behind-the-scenes workings of the Tudor and Stuart governments.

The first section, ‘Sensation, Magic & Spiritualism’, explores the relationship between the popularity of Victorian magic shows and conjuring tricks and the emergence of séances and psychic phenomena in Britain and America. The second section, ‘Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks’ focuses on the world of travelling entertainment, which brought spectacle to vast audiences across Britain, America and Europe in the 19th and early 20th century. The third section, “Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment”, features material on music halls; theatre (legitimate and illegitimate); pantomime; pleasure gardens; exhibitions; and scientific institutions. The fourth section explores the pivotal era in entertainment history when previously static images came to life and moved for the first time.