Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Adoption Law

Secondary Sources

Secondary sources are useful for finding analysis and background information on a topic.  Secondary sources are also useful tools for finding citations to relevant primary sources.

Journals

Law Reviews and Legal Periodicals

HeinOnline:  Full-text, fully-searchable compilation of law reviews, bar journals, federal materials, treaties, international resources and more.  Documents are organized into “libraries” (or collections) and presented in PDF format.  Examples of law reviews and journals dedicated to child welfare and juvenile justice include:

Legal periodicals are also available on Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg.

 

Interdisciplinary Journal Sources

Visit Databases@Emory to access Woodruff Library's full collection of multi-disciplinary databases.  Often other disciplines like sociology, psychology, economics, education, and child development are part of the study of children's rights.  A few of the more popular databases are named below.

  • Academic Search Complete
  • Sociological Collection
  • Legal Collection
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, PsycInfo, PsycArticles
  • ERIC  (full text)
  • JSTOR

CSA Worldwide, Sage, Wiley and ProQuest also offer good multi-disciplinary databases which are accessible via Databases@Emory.

Treatises, Monographs & Practice Materials

Treatises & Practice Materials on Westlaw

  • Thomas Jacobs & Natalie Jacobs, Children and the Law: Rights and Obligations (Current through May 2019): This multi-volume set offers extensive analysis of legal issues affecting children, including child welfare, adoption, guardianship, termination of parental rights and juvenile delinquency.
  • Thomas R. Young, Legal Rights of Children, 3d. (Current through Nov 2019): This treatise includes coverage of adoption law in Part II, Chapter 6: Adoption of Children and Other Arrangements.  Also in print (KF479 .L442, Vol. 1 and 2), located on the 4th Floor, MacMillan Law Library).
  • Ann M. Haralambie, Handling Child Custody, Abuse & Adoption Cases (Current through Dec 2018): Adoption, assisted conception, Indian Child Welfare Act, termination of parental rights, trial techniques, and other family law topics are explored in this treatise.
  • Kristin M. Kerschensteiner, Callaghan's Family Court Law & Practice (Current through June 2019): Chapter 14 addresses adoption.

 

Treatises & Practice Materials on Lexis

  • Joan H. Hollinger, Adoption Law and Practice (Current through 2019):  Treatise covers general adoption law and practice, interstate adoptions, intercountry adoptions, Assisted Reproductive Technologies, Native American Children, and Bureau of Indian Affairs.
  • Arnold H. Rutkin, Family Law and Practice (Current through Nov 2019):Treatise includes adoption law and practice.
  • Kathy L. Portnoy and Charla E. Strawser, Georgia Domestic Relations Case Finder (Current through Sept 2019): Single-volume summary of Georgia cases, similar to a trial notebook.
  • Edward E. Bates, Jr., Georgia Domestic Relations Forms (Current through Sept 2019): A practice manual with a comprehensive compilation of forms, analysis and explanations, and references to relevant cases, statutes, and rules.

 

Print Sources

Study Aids & Texts

The following materials are available in the MacMillan Law Library and can provide background and context on adoption and family law issues.

Study Aids & Hornbooks

News & Current Awareness

Blogs

Blawgs (or law blogs) are helpful when searching for a paper topic.  Many legal professionals review blawgs to stay abreast of current trends and latest developments in an area of law.  The American Bar Association (ABA) and Justia both offer free directories that can help you find relevant legal blogs on a topic of interest.

Directories

ABA Journal's Blawg Directory

Justia’s BlawgSearch 

 

Below are a few children's rights blawgs which may be of interest:

Children and the Law Blog

Family Law Prof Blog

The Future of Children