Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Adoption Law

Adoption Attorneys

Many professional organizations provide resources for adoption attorneys and the public.  Below is a list of selected organizations and professional associations.

Academy of Adoption & Assisted Reproduction Attorneys (AAAA) - AAAA is a national association of attorneys who practice adoption law and promote adoption law reform and the adherence to ethical practices.  Fellows of the academy are featured in a state-by-state directory (see Directory of Georgia Adoption Attorneys).  A directory of adoption agencies working with AAAA attorneys is also accessible from the AAAA website. 

 

 

Georgia Council of Adoption Lawyers (GCAL) - Provides an education and support network for adoption attorneys practicing in Georgia.  GCAL's website also provides a significant amount of information to the general public about adoptions in Georgia, amicus briefs, as appropriate, to the courts and advocacy.

 

Adoption Resources

Adoption.com - A national resource center providing pregnancy support and counseling, agency referrals, 22 adoption guides (covering domestic and international adoptions, resources for biological parents, foster care adoptions, costs of adoption, transracial adoption and more), and a photolisting of children currently available for adoption.

Child Welfare Information Gateway - The State Resources database provides access to child-welfare related state legislation, adoption agencies, support groups, publications, organizations, adoption assistance and adoption-related services, and state and local initiatives to improve the management of workload issues.

Justia - Adoptions - A free online resource providing the public with state and federal law databases and backgroud information on agency adoptions, private (independent) adoptions, international adoptions, stepparent/kinship adoptions, same-sex adoptions, and open/closed adoptions, lawyers directory, and other aspects of adoption law.  There is also a link to additional family web resources.

FindLaw - Adoption Laws - A free online resource providing the public with state and federal law databases and backgroud information on agency adoptions, private (independent) adoptions, international adoptions, stepparent/kinship adoptions, same-sex adoptions, and open/closed adoptions, lawyers directory, and other aspects of adoption law.

Blogs

Good and Growing - links to articles on Adoption.com and adoption stories.