Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

IACUC Searching and Resources

Resources and Services for IACUC Researchers

Getting started

This guide is for Emory's Community of Researchers.  For additional assistance, please contact 

Databases

View the Health Sciences A-Z Database list or the entire Emory University A-Z Database list.

 

Database Controlled Vocabulary Proximity Search Help/Other Features
ALTBIB PubMed MESH N/A Help
Biosis Previews N/A Use NEAR/# to indicate within how many words concepts should be from each other.  For example: ant NEAR/3 colony will look for the word colony within 3 words on either side of ant. Help
Cochrane Library PubMed MESH  Use Near/# to indicate within how many words concepts should be from each other.  For example heart N/3 surgery will look for the word surgery within 3 words on either side of heart. Help
Embase Emtree

NEAR/#: indicates within the number of words on either side of a term. 

NEXT/#: directional from left to right.  For instance: cardiovascular NEXT/2 surgery means the term surgery appears within 2 words of cardiovascular to the right of the term.

Help
PsychInfo APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms N#: to indicate within how many words concepts should be of each other in either direction. For example: bipolar N3 manic will look for manic within 3 words of bipolar to the left and right of it. 

W#: if you want terms searched in one direction.  For instance, schizophrenia W2 bipolar will look for bipolar within 2 words of schizophrenia but only to the right of schizophrenia.  
Help
PubMed MESH N/A Help
Scopus N/A

W/#: "Indicates distance between words, but not the order - e.g. journal W/2 publishing, where journal can be found within a distance of two words from publishing"

Pre/#:"Terms must appear in a specific order between words - e.g. behavioral  PRE/3  disturbances, where behavioral precedes disturbances within three words"

 

 

Help
Web of Science N/A NEAR/#: Indicates within the number of words on either side of a term. For instance: cardiovascular NEAR/3 therapy means the term surgery appears within 2 words of cardiovascular on either side of cardiovascular. Help

 

Search for Articles

  • Search from Emory's instance of PubMed so you see the Find It @ Emory Button to get to Emory's subscriptions.  Emory's PubMed URL is: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?otool=emorylib.
  • Search by topic or copy and paste the article title you are seeking into the search box.
  • Go into a record and click on the "Find It @Emory" button on the far right:

 

 

Emory University licenses a Chrome extension called LibKey Nomad via our BrowZine license.  Go to the Chrome Store and search for and install the libkey nomad (as seen below) by clicking on “Add to Chrome.”  

undefined

Once you click on “Add to Chrome,” you will be asked to “Select an Institution:”

undefined

You will not see any type of confirmation that the extension has been added but you should see a green tear-drop looking icon in the far right corner of your browser that looks like below:

undefined

That is how you know that the extension has been installed.  If you go to PubMed or another site, you will most likely see something like the image below.   When you click on the “Download PDF” icon, if you have not already logged into a resource with your University NetID and password, you will be prompted to do so.  Once you do so, it will take you immediately to the PDF, if available.

undefined

If Emory University Libraries do not have an article, book, or DVD you need, you can use the InterLibrary Loan Service.  It is a free service provided by the Emory University Libraries for items unavailable in our print or online collections.  

If you are seeking an article via PubMed and it is unavailable after clicking on the "Find It @Emory" button, you can click on on "Request via Interlibrary Loan" option. When you click on that link, you will be prompted for your University NetID and password.  Once you login, you will see a populated request form.  Click "Submit Request" at the bottom.

For items you are requesting not linking out from PubMed, go to: https://illiad.library.emory.edu/ and login with your University NetID and password.  

Once you are on the ILLiad page, choose an option:

undefined

Populate the online form and click Submit Request at the bottom.

undefined

You should receive the article (pdf) within 1-2 business days.

 

Animal Alternatives Keywords and Sample Searches

A sample Animal Alternatives search is shown.  A researcher who studies colitis is planning to induce inflammatory bowel disease in mice using dextran sulfate sodium (DSS) to study the effect of a new compound and wants to search for alternatives to having to sacrifice the mice to study the effects on the intestine.  It is easiest to break the keywords up by topic so the first search keywords are related to disease or the condition studied and the second search keywords are related to the model organism being used and the third search keywords are related to animal welfare or animal alternatives.  The searches can then be combined into one search at the end. After you develop basic search strategies you can fine tune the strategies to meet the needs of the search database you are using such as using proximity operators or truncations.

Search One Keywords: Inflammatory bowel disease OR ibd OR colitis

Search Two Keywords: murine OR mouse OR mice  OR mus musculus OR rats OR rat or rat rattus

Search Three Keywords: Animal Welfare OR Humane Endpoint OR noninvasive OR Imagine OR biomarker

The final search would be the results of Search 1 AND 2 AND 3 combined.

Below are screen shots from the above search carried out in PubMed.

Search:  Disease or Condition

Search 2: Organism

Search 3:  Animal Welfare/Alternatives

Finally,  you can use the Advanced feature below the search box in PubMed to combine the three searches into one search to end up with a final search with 2,366 results.

The Animal Welfare Information Information Center(AWIC) has sample animal alternative searches available to demonstrate how to structure your search.  You can view the sample searches here: https://www.nal.usda.gov/awic/sample-searches.  AWIC also provides useful worksheets that will help guide you through your animal alternatives search: https://www.nal.usda.gov/sites/default/files/altwksht_jan2020.pdf

A helpful list of keywords and search hedges for Animal Alternative searches are available from Duke University's Medical Center Library and Archives: https://guides.mclibrary.duke.edu/animalalternatives/keywords. Using these keywords and search hedges might help you further structure your search.