MESAS 370W|HIST 396W Crusades through Middle Eastern Eyes (Main)

Use Library Search to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory libraries, including Woodruff; Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library; Goizueta Business; Pitts Theology; Woodruff Health Sciences Center; McMillan Law; Science Commons; Music and Media; and Oxford libraries.

• Search one of the library's 400+ databases
• Databases like JSTOR and Academic Search Complete provide citations and/or full text of journal articles, books, and other materials. Emory University Libraries pay for access to the contents of more than 400 databases. See our Databases page for a list of databases.
• Search Google Scholar
  Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.

For more information, see Find Articles at Woodruff Library guide.

From Library Search:

• Type in your keywords
• When you get some results, use "Refine Search Results" on the left to narrow your search by author, item type, date and more.

Too many search results?

• Add additional terms to your search
• Limit your search by item type, exact phrase, and/or author/title/subject using Library Search's drop-down menus
• Use Library Search's "Limit Your Search" feature (in the left column) 

Too few results?

• Remove some terms from your search
• Add synonyms using OR [in upper case] with parentheses - for example (women OR woman OR female)

Off-topic results?

• Try using the advanced search
• Ask a librarian for help

You can access your account to see what items you currently have checked out, when they are due, and to renew them. Click the "My Library Card" button in the upper-right corner of Library Search to log in, or click here.

If you know the author or title of particular book you want to find, look it up in Books and Media (online catalog) by title or author (last name, first name).  In searching for particular book titles, do not use the initial A, An, or The in your search; do include these words as they occur later in the book title.

To find books on particular topics, use keyword or subject searches.  Keyword searches may be composed of any word you hope might be found in a book title.  When you find a particularly good book by using a keyword search, notice, near the bottom of the entry for that book, what the subject headings are for it; try clicking on some of those to find more material, if needed.

Subject searches employ Library of Congress Subject Headings. Catalogers assign several subject headings to each book they catalog based on examining it to know what it is about.  Below is a list of useful subject headings for looking up books in our catalog on the Crusades.  Use Subject search.

Chivalry

Crusader art

Crusades

Crusades—Bibliography

Crusades—Dictionaries

Crusades—Early Works to 1800

Crusades—Encyclopedias

Crusades—Fiction

Crusades—Finance

Crusades—Handbooks, Manuals, etc.

Crusades—Historiography

Crusades—History—Sources

Crusades—Influence

Crusades—Participation

Crusades—Personal Narratives

Crusades—Poetry

Crusades—Songs and Music

Crusades—Sources

Crusades—First, 1096-1099

Crusades—Second, 1147-1149

Crusades—Third, 1189-1192

Crusades—Fourth, 1202-1204

Crusades—Fifth, 1218-1221

Crusades—Sixth, 1228-1229

Crusades—Seventh, 1248-1250

Crusades—Eighth, 1270

Crusades—Later, 13th, 14th, 15th centuries

Crusades—13th-15th centuries

Crusades in art

Crusades in Literature

Crusades in Motion Pictures

Jerusalem—History—Latin Kingdom, 1099-1244

Latin Empire, 1204-1261

Latin Orient

Military history, medieval

Saladin, Sultan of Egypt and Syria, 1137-1193

Templars