Library of Congress: Military Legal Resources: Links to U.S. military law resources, including Manuals for Courts Martial, the Law of Armed Conflict Deskbook, U.S. Army Field Manuals, and collections of historical war crimes materials. Military law manuals can be found at:
Department of Defense Law of War Manual 2015: Updated December 2016. Manual with information for personnel executing military operations, including when the law of war applies and rules on the conduct of hostilities. Includes extensive citations to treaties, secondary sources, and official documents. Also at KZ3685 .U553 2015 and on Hein Online.
The Commander's Handbook on the Law of Land Warfare 2019: Field manual with guidance to Army and Marine Corps commanders on the doctrine and practice of customary and treaty law applicable to the conduct of warfare on land.
NATO Legal Deskbook (2010 2d edition): Introduction to NATO legal documents, international law, and law of armed conflict for NATO legal advisers
The United States Department of Defense Law of War Manual by
The United States Department of Defense Law of War Manual: Commentary and Critique provides precise analysis of the US approach to the most pressing problems in modern wars, including controversies surrounding use of human shields, fighting in urban areas, the use of cyberwar and modern weaponry, expanding understanding of human rights, and the rise of ISIS. This group of authors, including academics and military practitioners, provides a wealth of expertise that demystifies overlapping threads of law and policy amidst the world's seemingly intractable conflicts.
The Law of War by
In 2015, the United States Department of Defense published its long-awaited Law of War Manual making a significant statement on the position of the US government on important military matters. Whilst readers recognise the Manual's legal and strategic importance, they may question whether particular statements of law are legally accurate or complete. This book offers a unique in-depth review of the complete Manual, including revisions, on a paragraph-by-paragraph, line-by-line and word-by-word basis.
The Handbook of the International Law of Military Operations by
The second edition of this handbook provides a comprehensive overview and annotated commentary of those areas of international law most relevant to the planning and conduct of military operations. It covers a wide scope of military operations, ranging from operations conducted under UN Security Council mandate to (collective) self-defence and consensual and humanitarian operations and identifies the relevant legal bases and applicable legal regimes governing the application of force and treatment of persons during such operations. It also devotes attention to the law governing the status of forces, military use of the sea and airspace and questions of international (criminal) responsibility for breaches of international law. New developments such as cyber warfare and controversial aspects of law in relation to contemporary operations, such as targeted killing of specific individuals are discussed and analysed, alongside recent developments in more traditional types of operations, such as peacekeeping and naval operations.
Tallinn Manual 2. 0 on the International Law Applicable to Cyber Operations by
Tallinn Manual 2.0 expands on the highly influential first edition by extending its coverage of the international law governing cyber operations to peacetime legal regimes. The product of a three-year follow-on project by a new group of twenty renowned international law experts, it addresses such topics as sovereignty, state responsibility, human rights, and the law of air, space, and the sea. Tallinn Manual 2.0 identifies 154 'black letter' rules governing cyber operations and provides extensive commentary on each rule. Although Tallinn Manual 2.0 represents the views of the experts in their personal capacity, the project benefitted from the unofficial input of many states and over fifty peer reviewers.
Digital National Security Archive (subscription database): Declassified historical government documents on U.S. national security policy, including chronologies and bibliographies.
U.S. State Department Bureau of Counterterrorism: Country Reports on Terrorism, Fact Sheets, information on programs and initiatives
Office of Foreign Assets Control Sanctions Programs and Information (US Department of the Treasury): Economic and trade sanctions based on US foreign policy and national security against targeted foreign countries and regimes, terrorists, international narcotics traffickers, and other threats to national security
CRS Reports for Congress on international law and U.S. foreign policy:
Digest of U.S. Practice in International Law (also on Hein Online): Annual State Department publication on U.S. practice in international law, with summaries, text of documents, and links to documents. Chapters generally have the same subject arrangement each year. For example, Chapter 17 is on international conflict resolution and avoidance, and chapter 18 is on use of force.
Foreign Relations of the United States (also on Hein Online): Historical record of U.S. foreign policy. Volumes by administration and issue, with documents 1861-1988. Search by keyword, section, date, or search or browse heading within volumes.
United Nations Security Council Counter-Terrorism Committee: Conventions and legal instruments related to counter-terrorism, Security Council Resolutions on counter-terrorism and surveys of implementation, and policy guidance on human rights.
Security Council Resolutions: Tables of resolutions arranged by year and number, with topic headings, usually states and regions with armed conflicts. Volumes of resolutions and decisions are under Security Council Documents. The Repertoire of Practice of the Security Council analyzes the work the Security Council by UN Charter Article, with citations to Resolutions and Documents.
The Security Council Report, a private publication on the Security Council, has news, forecasts, and key resolutions and documents on Security Council actions arranged by country and region or by theme.
U.S. Naval War College International Law Studies: Journal with articles on International Humanitarian Law, National Security, and the Law of Armed Conflict
Search Emory Libraries Search under the subject headings Terrorism-Prevention-Law and Legislation, Terrorism (International Law), Foreign Policy, and National Security. Titles include:
Principles of Counter Terrorism Law by
Concise Hornbook Series. The book examines the military and law enforcement responses to international terrorism. Subjects include the legal authority to use military force; determining when the law of armed conflict comes into force; the law of targeting and how this authority is applied to terrorist operatives; preventive detention; prosecution of terrorists by military commission; the legal framework for gathering counter-terrorism intelligence information; prosecuting terrorists and their sponsors; freezing terrorist assets; and civil liability for personal injury or death caused by acts of international terrorism.
Routledge Handbook of Terrorism and Counterterrorism by
This Handbook provides a comprehensive, state-of-the-art overview of current knowledge and debates on terrorism and counterterrorism, as well as providing a benchmark for future research. The attacks of 9/11 and the 'global war on terror' and its various legacies have dominated international politics in the opening decades of the 21st century. The volume is divided into two key parts: Part I: Terrorism: This section provides an overview of terrorism, covering the history of terrorism, its causes and characteristics, major tactics and strategies, major trends and critical contemporary issues such as radicalisation and cyber-terrorism. It concludes with a series of detailed case studies, including the IRA, Hamas and Islamic State. Part II: Counterterrorism: This part draws on the main themes and critical issues surrounding counterterrorism. It covers the major strategies and policies, key events and trends and the impact and effectiveness of different approaches. This section also concludes with a series of case studies focused on major counterterrorism campaigns.
Targeting Top Terrorists by
In Targeting Top Terrorists, Bryan C. Price offers a data-driven examination of leadership decapitation tactics, providing theoretical and empirical explanations of the conditions under which they can be successful. Analyzing hundreds of cases of leadership turnover from over two hundred terrorist groups, Price demonstrates that although the tactic may result in short-term negative side effects, the loss of top leaders significantly reduces terror groups' life spans. He explains vital questions such as: What factors make some terrorist groups more vulnerable than others? Is it better to kill or capture terrorist leaders? How does leadership decapitation compare to other counterterrorism options? With compelling evidence based on an original dataset along with an in-depth case study of Hamas, Targeting Top Terrorists contributes to scholarship on terrorism and organizational theory and provides insights for policy makers and practitioners on some of the most pressing debates in the field.
Counterterrorism and Investigative Detention by
Counterterrorism and Investigative Detentionexplores the practice of investigative detention of terrorist suspects in the legal systems of the United States, the United Kingdom, and France. In addition to illuminating the characteristics, capabilities, and limitations of various investigative detention regimes, this book examines ways in which international law and national security imperatives have served as vectors for change and convergence in these otherwise divergent legal systems. The chapters include an examination of the way in which each country has experienced and confronted terrorism; an overview of each country's legal system; a detailed analysis of each country's counterterrorism laws; and a discussion of the ways in which international law has impacted their respective counterterrorism approaches.
Aspen Treatise: National Security Law by
This concise treatise provides a highly accessible but also comprehensive and timely supplement for students studying National Security Law. Comprehensive overview of both the general legal framework for national security decision-making and commonly explored specific national security topics. Narrative explanation of complex jurisprudential, statutory, treaty, and regulatory sources of national security law. Complements a range of the most commonly addressed national security topics.
National Security in the New World Order by
This important new book explores contemporary concerns about the protection of national security. It examines the role, influence, and impact of Big Tech on politics, power, and individual rights. The volume considers the manner in which digital technology and its business models have shaped public policy and charts its future course.
