Oxford Reports on International Law provides full-text of decisions of international courts, domestic courts deciding issues of international law, and awards of arbitral bodies. Browse by subject areas including international humanitarian law, international human rights law, and use of force, war, peace, and neutrality. Browse by jurisdiction, both countries and courts. The database is also searchable, including within results.The Oxford Law Citator provides citations to documents and related citing cases and documents.
Oxford International Organizations: Key primary documents of international organizations with commentary. Includes judgments and rules of international courts. Articles include links to journal articles and materials cited and the Oxford Law Citator.
The website of the International Criminal Court includes decisions of the court and information on pending cases. The court's Legal Tools Database includes decisions of international criminal courts and tribunals and national courts on international criminal law and human rights, and national implementing legislation.
International Justice Resource Center: News, information, country fact sheets, and calendars on international courts and human rights treaty bodies. Includes categorized links to treaties and tribunals. Includes coverage of the International Criminal Court and Internationalized Criminal Tribunals.
WorldCourts.com: Search 50+ international courts and tribunals for caselaw. Results include lists of judgments and decisions by court, including the International Criminal Court, international criminal tribunals, and special courts and tribunals.
International Crimes Database: A database on international crimes adjudicated by national, international, and internationalized courts, from the T.M.C. Asser Institut in The Hague. Includes news and new cases on the homepage. Background information on international courts and tribunals. Browse cases by name or category (genocide, terrorism), or use the advanced search with categories and terms.
Materials for the International Criminal Tribunals for Yugoslavia and Rwanda can be found in:
International Legal Materials (Hein Online, Westlaw, Lexis) reports selected judgments and orders of international courts and tribunals.
The International Criminal Court's Legal Tools Database has ICC documents and legal instruments, decisions of international criminal courts and tribunals and of national courts on international criminal law and human rights, and national implementing legislation.
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime: Treaties related to terrorism as well as crime and drug-related treaties, legal tools including model laws and treaties, a mutual legal assistance request writer tool, a human trafficking caselaw database, and a legal library with laws on drugs, trafficking, mutual legal assistance, and other criminal laws.
Treatises in the law library on international criminal law can be found by searching Emory Libraries Search by subjects including "international criminal law," "crimes against humanity," and "war crimes," or by browsing the 4th floor shelves in the K5000's and KZ7000's. Title include:
Introduction to International Criminal Law by
Written by one of the world's pioneers and leading authorities on international criminal law, this text book covers the history, nature, and sources of international criminal law; the ratione personae; ratione materiae--sources of substantive international criminal law; the indirect enforcement system; the direct enforcement system; the function of the international criminal court; rules of procedure and evidence applicable to international criminal proceedings; and the future of international criminal law.
International Criminal Law by
Structured in four parts, this textbook first sets out the key international law principles which assume special significance in relation to international criminal law before going on to consider international criminal tribunals, the prosecution of international crimes, and the 'core' international crimes which have been prosecuted to date. Finally, consideration is given to issues such as legal defences and immunities under international law.
A Critical Introduction to International Criminal Law by
International criminal law has witnessed a rapid rise after the end of the Cold War. The United Nations refers to the birth of a new 'age of accountability', but certain historical objections, such as selectivity or victor's justice, have never fully gone away, and many of the justice dimensions of international criminal law remain unexplored. A Critical Introduction to International Criminal Law explores these critiques through five main themes at the heart of contemporary dilemmas: * The shifting contours of criminality and international crimes * The tension between individual and collective responsibility * The challenges of domestic, international, hybrid and regional justice institutions * The foundations of justice procedures *
Why Punish Perpetrators of Mass Atrocities? by
The authors - renowned scholars in the fields of criminal law, international criminal law, and philosophy of law, as well as practitioners working at different international criminal courts and tribunals - address the question of meaning and purpose of punishment in international law from various perspectives. The volume fleshes out the predominant dimensions of a theory of international punishment and highlights the differences between 'ordinary' (domestic) crime and international crimes and their respective enforcement. At the same time, throughout the volume a major focus is on the practical consequences of the different theoretical approaches, in particular for the activities of the International Criminal Court.
Punishing Atrocities Through a Fair Trial by
Over the past decades, international criminal law has evolved to become the operative norm for addressing the worst atrocities. But international courts have struggled to hold perpetrators accountable for these offenses while still protecting the fair trial rights of defendants. Punishing Atrocities through a Fair Trial explores this tension, from criticism of the Nuremberg Trials as 'victor's justice' to the accusations of political motivations clouding prosecutions today by the International Criminal Court. It explains why international criminal law must adhere to transparent principles of legality and due process to ensure its future as a legitimate and viable legal regime.
Managing Transitional Justice by
This book examines expectations for justice in transitional societies and how stakeholder expectations are ignored, marginalized and co-opted by institutions in the wake of conflict. Focusing on institutions that have adopted international criminal trials, the authors encourage us to ask not only whether expectations are appropriate to institutions, but whether institutions are appropriate expectations.
HPCR Practitioner's Handbook on Monitoring, Reporting, and Fact-Finding by
This book offers a portrait of the practice of monitoring, reporting, and fact-finding in the domain of human rights, international humanitarian law, and international criminal law. By analyzing the experiences of fifteen missions implemented over the course of the past decade, the book illuminates the key issues that these missions face and offers a roadmap for practitioners working on future missions. Part I offers a handbook that details methodological considerations for the design and implementation of fact-finding missions and commissions of inquiry. Part II - which consists of chapters written by scholars and practitioners - presents a more in-depth, scholarly examination of past fact-finding practices.
Marketing Global Justice by
Marketing Global Justice is a critical study of efforts to 'sell' global justice. The book offers a new reading of the rise of international criminal law as the dominant institutional expression of global justice, linking it to the rise of branding. The political economy analysis employed highlights that a global elite benefit from marketised global justice whilst those who tend to be the 'faces' of global injustice - particularly victims of conflict - are instrumentalised and ultimately commodified.
Foreign Law Guide (subscription database): Entries by jurisdiction include legal history and descriptions of the country’s government and legal institutions, as well as sources for legal research. Find statutes listed by subject with citations, sometimes with links or with English translation sources. Subject headings include Crime & Punishment. Foreign Law Guide includes sources for primary law, including Criminal Codes.
Bluebook Rules 20 and 21 and T2 are on citations to foreign and international law. The T2 tables on foreign jurisdictions are available free on the Electronic Bluebook. Entries for each country include links to internet sources for official legal publications.
Law Library of Congress Guide to Law Online: The guide for each country is arranged by branches of government and includes links to legislatures, gazettes, codes, courts, and ministries, as well as to legal research guides and background information sources for each country.
Legislationline (Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe/Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights): Database of legislation and drafting tools for meeting international human rights standards. Includes criminal codes, constitutions, and related laws. English translations are available for many documents.
The SHERLOC database of the UNODC has caselaw, legislation, and bibliographies related to organized crime, terrorism, trafficking, and cybercrime.
