Education

• PhD, Latin American Studies, Tulane University, New Orleans, La.
• MA , Latin American Studies, Tulane University, New Orleans, La.
• MS, Library and Information Sciences, Southern Connecticut State University, New Haven, Ct.
• BA, Political Science, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa

Professional Profile

Phil MacLeod joined Emory’s Robert W. Woodruff Library in 2008 as Bibliographer for Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Spanish and Portuguese. He holds a BA in Political Science from the University of Iowa, an MA and PhD from Tulane University (both in Latin American Studies) and an MLIS. Phil has worked in various capacities for Tulane University’s Latin American Library, as well as for the Yale University Libraries’ Latin American Collection and Manuscripts & Archives Division.  Prior to his arrival at Emory he was the Librarian for Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies for the University of California, Irvine.  In 2016 Phil added African Studies to his job responsibilities.

Phil is a member of the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials (SALALM). He has served as Chair SALALM’s Nominations Committee and Subcommittee on Electronic Resources. He is currently serving his second a three-year term on the Executive Board of the Latin American Microforms Project (LAMP) in July, 2013. Phil is also a member of the Latin American Studies Association (LASA).  He also serves a volunteer indexer for the Hispanic American Periodicals Index database.

Over the past 9 years Phil has made acquisitions trips to Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Uruguay, Trinidad & Tobago, Spain  and Portugal to the expand the Emory University Libraries’ collection of Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American holdings.

Foreign language expertise: Spanish and Portuguese.

Education

• SLA, Library Automation, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, Wisc.
• MS, Library and Information Sciences, Rosary College of Arts and Sciences, Dominican University, River Forest, Ill.
• BA, Anhui University, Hefei, Anhui Province, China

Professional Profile

Guo-hua Wang joined the Robert W. Woodruff Library in the mid-1990s. Her major responsibilities include collection management for East Asian Studies in general and research consultation and instruction on China in particular.
Prior to Emory, she worked as the head librarian of the School of Journalism & Mass Communication at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, a supervisor at the Fine Arts Library of Harvard University, and the Search Unit Coordinator of Boston University General Library.

Her scholarly publications include journal articles, such as “LLOLI: Language Learning Oriented Library Instruction” in the Journal of East Asian Libraries, “Introduction to the work on Missionary Archives to China” in China Index, and “China’s Higher Education Reform” in China Currents. Guo-hua also published the book, Guide to Archives of Missionaries to China Collected in Woodruff Library at Emory University in both English and Chinese. It has become an important reference book for Chinese Studies scholars who are interested in the impact of missionaries’ work on Chinese history and the transformation of Chinese society. Her second book “Roads to Ivy League Colleges” has been translated into Chinese and published by an Educational Press in China.  She is currently a member of the Editorial Board for the “Journal of Emerging Knowledge on Emerging Markets” and on the board of Directors at the China Research Center in Atlanta.

Guo-hua Wang earned her BA from Anhui University in China, master’s degree in Library and Information Sciences from Rosary College, and a Specialist degree in Library Automation from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She is a member of Beta Phi Mu, the honor society of International Library & Information Studies.

Foreign language expertise: Chinese.

• MS, Library and Information Science, Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY
• BA, Biology, Amherst College, Amherst, MA

Professional Profile

As the subject librarian for Japanese Studies and Korean Studies, Lawrence Hamblin is responsible for acquisitions, cataloging, and collection management of print, electronic, and audiovisual resources related to Japan and Korea, as well as reference, instruction, outreach, and research assistance. He has served on internal working groups related to information literacy, library assessment, and collection planning.

In addition to his work at Emory, Lawrence is a member of several committees within the Council on East Asian Libraries (a subunit of the Association for Asian Studies) and the North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources.

Lawrence’s current interests include mentoring those new to the field of librarianship, collecting accurate data about Emory’s holdings of East Asian resources, acquiring rare Japanese materials for use as primary sources in the classroom, and developing tools to enable digital scholarship in Japanese Studies, particularly by writing original code. He also has a broad interest in Japanese language and linguistics.

Foreign language expertise: Japanese and Korean.