Britain and the World

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia (articles and illustrations), as well as the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year.

The Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture spans prehistoric times to the present, and treats both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland in detail. Entries represent an inclusive, cross-disciplinary approach, written by specialists in history, archaeology, anthropology, geography, politics, economics, the Irish and English languages and literatures, the visual arts and other fields.

Nearly 700 contributors from around the world, including 25 Asian countries, provide 3,000 articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events, and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia.

With nearly 600 new entries and 1,000 updates, this second editon reflects the far-reaching changes the Middle East has undergone in recent years, making it more relevant and necessary than ever before.

Explores European history from 1450-1789, from the print revolution to the French Revolution. Includes 1,150 articles written by eminent scholars covering major topics in art, government, and education as well as providing biographical entries on key figures of the period.

A collection of online reference works -- see title list for individual works included.

Here, in a single convenient volume, is the essential reference book for anyone with an interest in British history. First published in 1997, under the editorship of the late John Cannon and in consultation with over 100 distinguished contributors, this Companion has now been updated by Robert Crowcroft to include the very latest scholarship and research. It describes and analyses the people and events that have shaped and defined life in Britain over more than 2,000 years of political, social, and cultural change.

Covers all important aspects of Irish history.

Provides full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: annual updates cover individuals who have died after 2000.

Oxford Handbooks Online provides access to electronic editions of Oxford Handbooks for various subjects in literature, philosophy and political science. Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline and unpacks it, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve.

Offers combined access to the Oxford Dictionary of Music (2d ed., 2006), the Oxford Companion to Music (2002), and Grove Music Online. The latter source provides in-depth coverage of music of all styles, periods, and cultures, and comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed.

This database includes fully-indexed, cross-searchable full text content from more than 170 subject dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.