Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch for books and articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories and universities, and more. To add a "Find It @ Emory" button, go to Library Links in the Settings menu, search for Emory, and click the "Find It @ Emory" box. NOTE: Unlike a library database, many sources found in Google Scholar require payment before providing full text; check library holdings of journal titles in Library Search or Interlibrary Loan before paying.
- Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers publications from academic journals and popular magazines in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business.
- Scopus (SciVerse Scopus) This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and more.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowPerform searches for references, substances, reactions, and chemical supplier content. SciFinder-n includes step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and touch-screen enabled structure drawing. SciFinder-n is a product of the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a division of the American Chemical Society.
- SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new windowCollection of physical, engineering, and chemical data tables.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text of Elsevier journals in science, technology and medicine, as well as selected social sciences and humanities titles.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowA workflow solution for accessing substance and reaction data and bibliographic data housed in the Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Databases.
- Reaxys Training videosTraining videos for using Reaxys
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowPerform searches for references, substances, reactions, and chemical supplier content. SciFinder-n includes step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and touch-screen enabled structure drawing. SciFinder-n is a product of the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a division of the American Chemical Society.
- SciFinder training materialsTraining materials for using SciFinder
Trouble Shooting SciFinder
- You get the following error message: "Access to SciFinder is not authorized from this IP address, [your IP address]."
If you receive this message, it means your need to authenticate as an Emory user before logging in to SciFinder. Try using this link: http://guides.libraries.emory.edu/SFN - If you authenticated as an Emory user and you still received an error message, you may need to clear your cookies/cache. So that you don’t have to clear important data, there are some instructions here. You can always try to login in using an incognito/private browser window before clearing your cookies/cache.
- Make sure you are using SciFinder's recommended web browser technology: SciFinder System Recommendations and Requirements.
- If you have problems with your account that cannot be resolved by resetting your password, please contact Oxford College Library Staff.
Search Strategies
AND / OR / NOT, known as Boolean Operators, are used to connect and define the relationship between your search terms. Use uppercase letters for Boolean operators within searches.
AND
Narrows the search by telling the database or catalog to search for all records with both keywords. Use AND to connect the main concepts you want represented in your results.
- college AND "social mobility"–will only find records with both words/phrases.
OR
Broadens the search to include records with either keyword/phrase, or both. Use OR to connect synonyms or associated keywords relating to one of your main concepts.
- college OR "higher education"
NOT
*Use only to differentiate between concepts or filter out results if needed.
Narrows your search. Tells database to find results that include the first word and exclude the second word.
- cloning NOT sheep
- Look at your question(s) - what are the keywords you will use to search?
- Now that you have your keywords, write out some possible synonyms of each word or related concepts.
- Take notes of what you are using to search
- Keep track of what databases you have used
For example, if you are searching for information on the Great Depression, you might also want to look for:
- Dust Bowl
- Black Thursday
- Smoot-Hawley Tariff
- Economic Depression
Adjust your searches by narrowing the focus or by combining research terms.
Once you type in your search terms, use the "Refine my results" list on the left-hand side to help narrow down your search by:
- format
- subject
- publication date
- and more!
