Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

FILM 403 The Biz (Main)

Researching Companies in Factiva

The business database Factiva is a good starting point for researching individual companies and broader trends within the contemporary entertainment industry. 

  • Searching industry news: On the home search page, go to the Source line and add the industry news source(s) that you want to search, such as Variety, Broadcasting & Cable, Hollywood Reporter, etc. Factiva has access to these trade newspapers usually going back to the 2000s or earlier.
  • Company profiles: Select the top tab "Companies/Markets." There you can search for individual companies and view "Company Snapshots."

 

Citation: Factiva does not offer a tool to generate citations, unlike some other academic databases. You will have to create a citation yourself according to your citation style's rules for citing websites or electronic resources. Sample: 

"The Walt Disney Company. Company Snapshot." Factivahttps://global-factiva-com.proxy.library.emory.edu/pcs/default.aspx?napc=K&f=DSNYW&fcpil=en. Accessed September 24, 2019.

If you are citing trade newspaper articles, just use the standard rules for citing newspaper articles.

Variety and Other Trade Journals in Databases

Some library databases offer full text and indexing for industry trade journals, including Variety, Hollywood Reporter, and Broadcasting & Cable. You can pull up results on topics using regular keywords or the controlled subject headings specific to those databases.

For access to Variety specifically, try: 

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text: 1999-present.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive - 1905-2000.

Variety Insight

Variety Insight provides up-to-date information on companies in the entertainment industry, org charts, industry contacts, and tracking productions in development.

Contact James Steffen for access.