Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Theater Research Guide

Theater Reviews

Academic Search Complete
To identify reviews of plays in periodicals from 1984 to the present, use the "advanced search" and search for the play title in the default fields and "entertainment review" as the document type. Includes full text of many articles from 1990 to the present.

International Bibliography of Theater and Dance with Full Text
A good source for finding reviews in scholarly journals and popular theater magazines.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic Universe)
Use for recent newspaper reviews, international in scope.

New York Times Historical

Includes the full newspaper text from 1851 through 1999.
Use the "advanced search" to locate reviews, and search for the article type "review." For best results, enter the title of the play in quotation marks to search for the exact phrase. Paper copies of the reviews are also available in the library's reference collection.

Readers Guide
For play reviews, use the "advanced search" and combine the play title, in quotation marks, and the article type "play review." For reviews before 1984, use the paper copies shelved in Reference under the call number AI3 .R48.

Research Library
Includes play review citations from 1986 to the present, and the full text of many reviews from 1991 to the present. "Advanced" searches for the play title may be combined with "performance review" as the article type.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
James Steffen
He/His
Contact:
Music and Media Library

Office phone: (404) 727-8107