Research Guides: Dance Research Guide: Scholarly Articles on Dance

Best Dance Subject Periodical Databases

The Databases @ Emory page has a broad selection of databases which may contain dance-related articles. The most immediately useful citation databases and indexes for Dance are listed below. Feel free to contact the Dance subject librarian for additional suggestions related to your specific research project.

International Bibliography of Theater and Dance with Full Text (IBTD) This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic materials on theater and dance, including articles, essays and book chapters. Resources are mined from internationally selected publications in drama, dance, media, mime, mixed entertainment, and more.
IBTD is a research tool for university theater and language departments, theater organizations, primary schools, social scientists and professionals within the field.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes a large number of dance-related articles. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly, trade and popular journals, reports, conference proceedings and related patents. Includes information on physical fitness, education, and therapy as well as coaching, biomechanics-kinesiology and sports activities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines, including performing arts. Dance-related journals include Dance Chronicle, CORD News/Dance Research Journal, Dance Research: The Journal of the Society for Dance Research, and Performing Arts Journal/PAJ. Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.

Multidisciplinary Periodical Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Access a large collection of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as coverage of many international conference proceedings.
To search this database, select Search In: Web of Science Core Collection, and then under Editions you can select the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for books and articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories and universities, and more. To add a "Find It @ Emory" button, go to Library Links in the Settings menu, search for Emory, and click the "Find It @ Emory" box. NOTE: Unlike a library database, many sources found in Google Scholar require payment before providing full text; check library holdings of journal titles in Library Search or Interlibrary Loan before paying.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (A&I) This link opens in a new window
Official digital archive of the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. Search citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to present day, and access full text dissertations.

Get Articles through ILL

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL), you can get copies of articles that Emory doesn't own. When placing your request, be sure to:

provide a complete citation if at all possible;
mention the source (such as the database or book) where you found the citation.

You will be notified when your materials arrive (most materials are obtained within 2 weeks).