Research Guides: Classical Music Research Guide: Find Audio & Video

Get Physical

Emory has over 25,000 Audio CDs, 8,000 LPs, 32,000 DVDs, and 4,000 Blu-rays, many of which cannot found through online streaming. In addition, physical media contains a wealth of information about the recording often not found on the internet or streaming services.

Find physical media through Library Search and check out at the Library Search Desk on Woodruff, level 2.

Streaming Audio & Video through Emory

You can access millions of streaming audio and video tracks for free through Emory Libraries from these sources:

Naxos Music This link opens in a new window
Stream audio from over 100 different labels. Includes western classical music, jazz, world music, and other genres. CD notes are provided for titles with an “About this recording” link.
Naxos Music Library: Jazz This link opens in a new window
Stream audio of jazz music from a wide variety of labels.
Naxos Music Library: World This link opens in a new window
Stream music from different cultures around the world, centering on the complete Smithsonian Folkways catalog while also providing thousands of additional recordings from other labels.
Alexander Street Press Music Online: Listening This link opens in a new window
A streaming music database comprising of a wide variety of music: classical, American song, jazz, popular, contemporary world music, and historical world music from the Smithsonian Folkways label. Many albums are also discoverable via Library Search, but not all.
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window
Stream performances from the Metropolitan Opera House in video and audio. Includes the Live in HD series, broadcasts on public television (1977–2003), and radio performances dating back to 1936.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Stream performances by well-known musicians. Includes temporary on demand performances and a permanently accessible catalogue. Genres include concerts, opera, educational programs, master classes, competitions, artist portraits, and dance. The emphasis is on western art music. An app is available for phones and other digital devices.
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window
Stream a wide variety of performances, including opera, classical music, ballet, live concerts, and more.
Alexander Street Press Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video database of opera performances and singing competitions. Includes both live and cinematic performances, interviews and documentaries. Mainly European productions.
Naxos Spoken Word Library This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of audiobooks in English, French, German, and Portuguese, with a focus on classic and other public domain books. A downloadable mobile app allows offline listening and requires further registration.

How to Use the Naxos App

The Naxos apps are great for streaming pieces off-line and listening on the go. There are four apps, one for each database: Naxos Music, Naxos Music Library: Jazz, Naxos Music Library: World, and Naxos Spoken Word Library. However, if you plan to use "advanced search" or read liner notes, the desktop version is recommended.

Creating an Account

Access Naxos through the Emory library pages on a computer.

Go to databases and search for Naxos. Choose the Naxos database that is most relevant to your interests.

Create an account by going to the boxes on the left side of the screen and select “Playlists”.

Once there, “Sign up” for an account at the top. Be sure to use your Emory email to login. Once you’ve created an account, you can make playlists, save music, and use the Naxos app.

Download the Naxos App of your choice on mobile

Note: You must go through this process for each of the different Naxos databases you would like to use.

Downloading and Adding to Playlists

Location your song or album of choice.

Click on the 3-dot menu to the side of the track

You can either add to a playlist or download for offline streaming