Reference Sources
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowMusic encyclopedia, offering coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. Music.Guide to scholarly literature. Over 100 articles on topics and individuals, with extremely useful bibliographies of recommended resources.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowContent of 300+ books published by Oxford University Press, including The Grove Dictionary of American Music (2nd ed.), The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments (2nd ed.), and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music (4th ed.)
- Harvard Dictionary of Music, 4th ed.An authoritative source for definitions and concise articles on musical topics and terms. No articles on people. Print edition: MUSICMEDIA REFERENCE ML100 .H37 2003
- Gale Biography in ContextParticularly useful for more recent artists. Contains full text of selected journal and magazine articles as well as reference works.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new windowAn encyclopedia of more than 700 articles covering the music of the world's peoples, from the earliest known traditions to current practices. It encompasses articles on geographic areas, nations, and ethnic groups, as well as discussion of trends and issues in scholarship. Includes lists of materials, sound recordings, and videos.
Timeline & History
- Contemporary Music timeline (Grove Music Online)Timeline of Western art music, 1881-2005.
The Oxford History of Western Music (Click for Online) by Call Number: ML160 .T18 2005 (Music & Media Library)ISBN: 9780195222739Publication Date: 2005-01-01
