National Association of Black and White Men Together Records, 1980-1999; 1 linear ft. (1 box)
The (NABWMT) is a gay multiracial, multicultural, political and social organization founded in 1980. The organization, made up of numerous local chapters, holds social functions, discussion groups, and an annual conference.
The collection contains organizational records and newsletters from the National Association from circa 1980-1999. The collection also includes documents and newsletters produced by many of their local chapters including Atlanta where the founder of the organization lived until his death in 1990.
David Lowe Papers, 1988-1992; 2 linear ft. (2 boxes)
David attended Emory from 1988 through 1992 and was very active in Emory's LGBT community. He was an officer of Emory's Lesbian and Gay Organization at that time called "ELGO". He helped coordinate the first display of the NAMES Project quilt at Emory, successfully lobbied for a distribution box at the DUC for Atlanta's GLBT newspaper, Southern Voice and narrowly lost the election for SGA president as an out gay man.
While a student at Emory, David was also a leader of ACT-UP Atlanta. The collection also holds materials relating to his AIDS activism in Atlanta in the late '80's and early 90's, including stickers, shirts, pins and other ephemera, photos, meeting minutes, and demonstration plans. He was arrested several times for his AIDS protests in which he raided the CDC, CNN and the capital in downtown Atlanta. At one memorable protest of the Southern Baptist Convention, the then Vice-Chair wrote a letter to the president of Emory, demanding his expulsion. Instead of expelling him, Emory honored him with a Humanitarian Award.
Network Q Records, 1992-1996; 37 linear ft. (37 boxes)
Network Q was the first weekly program about gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender individuals to be shown on public television. During the first two years of Network Q, the program was a subscription series of video tapes, and by 1994 they were being broadcast on 10 PBS stations across the country. By the end of their broadcast in 1996, they were being seen in all 50 states and in 11 foreign countries.
The program’s topics ranged from interviews with important national figures such as Allen Ginsberg and Martin Duberman, to more underground community based programming such as the Mr. International Leather Contest. Some of the more important programs for the gay and lesbian movement were the episodes devoted to the 1993 March on Washington, and the world’s largest display of the AIDS Memorial Quilt. Each program focused on a different city, and included profiles of openly gay activists and artist, book, film and theater reviews and other topics of interest to the gay and lesbian community.
The research aspect of Network Q goes beyond queer studies and the gay rights movement, by allowing students and researchers of film studies programs an in depth look at the entire process of television and film creation. For each episode, the collection consists of initial planning documents, correspondence with city officials and episode guests, travel itineraries, episode planners, location and production stills, unedited original footage, the edited film and the final product.
Ed Stansell Papers, 1984-1997; 6 linear ft. (6 boxes, 2 oversized papers)
Ed (Edwin) W. Stansell, Assistant Dean at Emory University and gay rights activist.
The collection contains papers of Ed W. Stansell from 1984-1997, including posters, organizational records, and ephemera related to Stansell’s work with Atlanta, Georgia, gay rights activist and political organizations. Organizations represented in the collection include the Atlanta Campaign for Human Rights, AIDS Atlanta, Southeastern Arts Media Education Program, the Gay and Lesbian Rights Chapter of the ALCU of Georgia, the Greater Atlanta Political Awareness Coalition, and the Atlanta Lambda Community Center. The collection also contains material from the 1987 and 1993 marches in Washington, D.C.