Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Primary Sources for LGBT Research

This guide identifies manuscript collections and rare book collections that may be useful for scholars and researchers of LGBT studies and the history of sexuality in the U.S.

Using This Guide

This guide is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections. It serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas. More detailed descriptions of the sources listed in this guide are available in the Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library and through Emory Library Search, the Emory Libraries’ online catalog. Library Search contains bibliographic records for the majority of the manuscript collections held in the Rose Library as well as books and other printed material available at Emory University. Finding aids for the manuscript sources are also available through on the Rose Library website, but please note that some collections may not yet have finding aids available.

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in the Rose Library. Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. In addition, some collections have access restrictions. Researchers are encouraged to contact the Rose Library to insure that materials will be available. We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit.

Researchers should also consult other resource guides in the Rose Library, particularly the Manuscript Sources for Women’s History and Civil Rights.