Anthropology Research Guide

Covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.

It indexes articles and essays in over 2500 journals and edited works on all aspects of anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, geography, geology, genetics, psychology, religion and sociology.

An index of journals from the American Anthropological Association (AAA).

The only comprehensive abstracting journal in the field of anthropology, publishing three thousand abstracts per volume which provide a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields.

Full-text database of published ethnographies, memoirs, archival material, and selected images. Geographic coverage is global and all aspects of human behavior are covered including kinship, family, race, marriage, gender, material culture, religion, conflict resolution, economic systems, and more.

A fully indexed primary-source database that includes field notebooks, images, and recordings from archival collections from North America, Europe, and the Asian Pacific.

Collection of documentary films in streaming video format for the visual study of human culture and behavior. Includes classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films.

eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of ethnographic and other documents (including books, journal articles, and dissertations) on all aspects of cultural and social life.

A great place to start for biological anthropology and related topics. Multidisciplinary database covering the top journals in science, social science, and the arts & humanities.

Among the largest databases of peer-reviewed literature. Scopus covers scientific, technical, medical, social sciences content, as well as some arts & humanities.

A service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.

Provides searchable full-text access to backfiles (usually does not include issues of journals published within the last 5 years) of key scholarly journals in many fields including African American studies, African studies, anthropology, archaeology, Asian studies, business, classical studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, geography, history, history of science, language and literature, Latin American studies, mathematics, Middle East studies, philosophy, political science, population studies, Slavic studies, sociology, and statistics.

A much larger database than Anthropology Plus and a great place to search for articles related to cultural anthropology.

Review articles (that review the existing literature on specific topics) in the areas of biomedical, physical, and social sciences. This is a good place to start your research. It includes fantastic bibliographies that can lead you to related articles/books.

Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Includes sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Includes journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.

Searches for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from all areas of research. Use Advanced Scholar Options to refine your search.

A service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.

The National Library of Medicine's database indexing literature in biomedicine, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.

Covers the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines.

Indexes international biomedical journals covering public health, toxicology, pharmacology, drug research, health policy and management, psychiatry, psychology, biomedical engineering, alternative medicine, and environmental health.

Publishes peer-reviewed scientific journals rapidly and makes them freely available online. Includes biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, evolutionary biology, genetics, genomics, medicine, microbiology, nursing, and public health.

Provides comprehensive coverage of the world's published biological and biomedical research including biology, botany, zoology, microbiology, veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, biochemistry, biophysics, and bioengineering. Indexes journal articles, technical reports, meetings, reviews, and books.

Index for articles related to health, health policy, biomedicine.

Indexes journals relevant to animal behavior covering such subjects as neurophysiology, behavioral ecology, genetics, applied ethology, and the biology of taxonomic groups, including summaries of both field and laboratory inquiries.

A great place to start for biological anthropology and related topics. Multidisciplinary database covering the top journals in science, social science, and the arts & humanities.

A service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.

PsycINFO provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. More than 2.7 million records. Updated weekly. 99% of the citations are from peer-reviewed journals.

Indexes ecology research across a wide range of disciplines. Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.

Provides coverage of zoological and animal science literature covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine.

Use with caution. Not updated since 2010. Indexes scientific literature on nonhuman primates. Includes articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.

Coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

Indexes current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines. Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.

A multidisciplinary database for the environmental sciences. Includes scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

A bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.

A digital language archive of recordings, texts, and other multimedia materials in and about the Indigenous languages of Latin America.

The Atlas of North American English provides the first overall view of the pronunciation and vowel systems of the dialects of the U.S. and Canada. The Atlas re-defines the regional dialects of American English on the basis of sound changes active in the 1990s and draws new boundaries reflecting those changes.

Provides a comprehensive listing as well as information, statistics and maps of the known living languages of the world. Also includes information on extinct languages. A separate Bibliography section indexes articles published by SIL language researchers.

The Linguistic Bibliography Online covers all disciplines of theoretical linguistics, both general and language specific, from all geographical areas, including less-known and extinct languages, with particular attention to the many endangered languages of the world.

Indexes journals, books, technical reports and dissertations covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

Great portal for links to websites of many agencies dealing with development related issues. Most of these websites are free, but if you encounter a site that requires a login, Emory may also have access, so check our " Databases" webpage for the title.

A glossary of terms that frequently appear in development-related discussions, policy and practice at all levels - local, national and international.

Includes research reports, working papers, discussion papers, conference papers, statistics, case studies, policy briefings, etc. related to development that concentrate on information covering countries in the Southern Hemisphere (also includes items on other regions if the information could be applied to Southern-based research). The editors select and abstract full-text online documents from more than 4,500 different publishers focusing on materials which are of strategic, policy or practical interest for development practitioners. The database includes country profiles as well as 30 subject-focused guides. All documents are available free of charge.

Indexes books, periodicals and selected local, state, national, and international government documents in the areas of public policy, social policy and the social sciences, going back to 1915. You might be surprised by what you find here. Especially good re. health-related topics.

Covers theory and research in international affairs in working papers, conference proceedings, journal abstracts, books, a schedule of events, policy briefs and economic indicators, links and resources, and maps and country data. Sources include university research institutes, NGOs (non-governmental organizations), and foundation-funded research projects.

GDN is an International Organization of research and policy institutes promoting the generation, sharing and application to policy of multidisciplinary knowledge for the purpose of development. GDN emphasizes research done in developing countries.

The most important index in the field. It is a worldwide, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts on economics from major journals, books, dissertations, and collective volumes.

Provides direct access to the content of over 3000 human rights websites and filters out the non-relevant content: only the pages from websites with a main focus on human rights are indexed. Includes over 50 languages. Includes health information.

Africa--primarily South Africa

East, Southeast, and South Asia

East Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union

Latin America

The Islamic world including the Middle East, main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere.

Index of published literature about native peoples of North America, including books, journal literature, conference papers, and U.S. & Canadian government documents.

Similar to Lexis-Nexis Academic, Factiva is primarily a news database. You can search approximately 8,000 publications in 22 languages (as well as 9,000 Web sites). Great for getting the local perspective on your issue by reading the local newspapers from countries around the world.

A Foreign News Service from the U.S. Government that offers translated and English-language news and information. Includes the local media sources in foreign countries and regions. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources covering socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.

A full-text collection of U. S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses, searchable in English and Spanish. This database includes both current (1990-present) and historical (1960-1989) indexes.

Full-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.

For full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record try the Proquest New York Times Database. This database offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.

International coverage of health news.